The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 01:23am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Davidson v. Louisville

As requested:

__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 03:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,765
Nothing....once the momentum of the dive ceased, there was no additional movement.

And I DO believe that would be a travel if the player had started in that position without any momentum and then rolled over of their own volition.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 03:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nothing....once the momentum of the dive ceased, there was no additional movement.

And I DO believe that would be a travel if the player had started in that position without any momentum and then rolled over of their own volition.
I agree and thought that while watching the game live.
It goes to show how some of these decisions can go either way and be correct.
There will be several who deem this a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 06:53am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Not a travel - not at all.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 22
I'm of the opinion that I don't see how it is not a travel.

Lands on the ball, tucks it into his chest and then rolls over. Also once he is on his side he moves from that position to a sitting position.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 10:38am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I don't know if there's a difference between NFHS and NCAA rules regarding rolling over and momentum.

In NFHS, rolling over is a travel, but sliding with momentum is not. Does momentum apply to rolling over (either rule set)?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Ref View Post
I'm of the opinion that I don't see how it is not a travel.

Lands on the ball, tucks it into his chest and then rolls over. Also once he is on his side he moves from that position to a sitting position.
Under NCAA rules, your opinion would be incorrect.

A.R. 132 - Is it traveling when a player: ...(3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?

RULING: (3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble, or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over. When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 10:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I don't know if there's a difference between NFHS and NCAA rules regarding rolling over and momentum.

In NFHS, rolling over is a travel, but sliding with momentum is not. Does momentum apply to rolling over (either rule set)?
The rule basically restricts movement after the momentum has ceased. Once the player's momentum stopped, he was sufficiently on his backside that he could legally sit up.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
I do agree...

After watching the replays, I agree with others that this is not a travel. He still had momentum when he gathered the ball into his chest and was still in his dive when he rolled over.

I will file this one away as a good reference for future game situations.
__________________
Brian
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 16, 2012, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I don't know if there's a difference between NFHS and NCAA rules regarding rolling over and momentum.

In NFHS, rolling over is a travel, but sliding with momentum is not. Does momentum apply to rolling over (either rule set)?
The NFHS "sliding" point is in a case play...which means it is an example of the types of plays they want to be legal, not an exhaustive list of plays that are legal. The principle is that hustle plays to get a lose ball are intended to be legal....they want players to dive to the floor to get the ball...and the stuff that comes directly from diving to get it should not be considered illegal....slide or tumble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bob Davidson MD Longhorn Baseball 37 Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:27am
NC and Davidson game last night kdays78 Basketball 16 Fri Nov 16, 2007 08:08pm
Balkin' Bob Davidson... UMP25 Baseball 14 Sat Jun 09, 2007 07:03pm
Bob Davidson +POS mask TriggerMN Baseball 13 Thu Jun 08, 2006 01:13am
Davidson does it again! SanDiegoSteve Baseball 2 Sat Mar 18, 2006 03:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1