The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 11:21pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,127
Down goes player.

This happen to me for the first time. I just want to see how others would handle it.

I was the NEW LEAD in transition on the table side. One of the players went really wide and as I tried to avoid him, he cut back into me as the ball was on its way for a pass and he goes down. I was fine but the ball clearly went out of bounds. Now this was a 20 point game and I just gave the ball back to the team of the player I ran into or ran into me. No one said a word.

Just wondering would you do the same thing or would you just call a violation and go the other way?

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Thu Mar 01, 2012 at 04:03pm. Reason: Sorry it was a little early in the morning.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Boston area
Posts: 615
Stuff happens. OOB violation.

I had state tourney game this week where the ball hit me on the leg while I was in transition in the C position. I was mostly out of bounds and even though the ball hit me on the leg that was on the court...I felt I had no choice but to apply the correct rule.

It's a slippery slope when we set aside rules in the interest of fairness.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 01:51am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
I would have gone with an out of bounds violation IMO...
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 03:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
My thought?

OOB violation. That's just the way life goes. You didn't have any issues, which is good, but in the long run we can only get in trouble when we ignore obvious calls.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 03:14am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
OOB violation. That's just the way life goes. You didn't have any issues, which is good, but in the long run we can only get in trouble when we ignore obvious calls.
We can only get in trouble? Trouble with whom?

I got that some would not do this and I am fine with that part, but let us not act like we are going to get in trouble with anyone seriously.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 03:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
We can only get in trouble? Trouble with whom?

I got that some would not do this and I am fine with that part, but let us not act like we are going to get in trouble with anyone seriously.

Peace
We can get into trouble with coaches, though you didn't which is a good thing.

We can get into trouble with assignors.

We can get into trouble with observers.

Obviously you didn't have any problems in the situation so that's great but if someone who "matters" - for lack of a better term - is watching, they might not look upon the charity as a positive.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 04:03am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
We can get into trouble with coaches, though you didn't which is a good thing.
Wouldn't care one bit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
We can get into trouble with assignors.
Could, but doubt it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
We can get into trouble with observers.
Probably, but just put it on the list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Obviously you didn't have any problems in the situation so that's great but if someone who "matters" - for lack of a better term - is watching, they might not look upon the charity as a positive.
And they might not care either. But if they do they would have to show me a rule that says I can't.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 04:30am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
This happen to me for the first time. I just want to see how others would handle it.

I was the new trail in transition on the table side. One of the players went really wide and as I tried to avoid him, he cut back into me as the ball was on its way for a pass and he goes down. I was fine but the ball clearly went out of bounds. Now this was a 20 point game and I just gave the ball back to the team of the player I ran into or ran into me. No one said a word.

Just wondering would you do the same thing or would you just call a violation and go the other way?

Peace
The rules say that you got it wrong.

What if the spread was 15 points? 12? 10? Does the remaining time on the clock matter? At what time remaining does it no longer matter? Does that time remaining change based on the spread at the time?

The only consistent thing is to call the rule as written.

And next time, be a trail, not a non-trail.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 04:34am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
The rules say that you got it wrong.
What rule?

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 05:53am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Last touched.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 08:28am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
We can get into trouble with coaches, though you didn't which is a good thing.

We can get into trouble with assignors.

We can get into trouble with observers.

Obviously you didn't have any problems in the situation so that's great but if someone who "matters" - for lack of a better term - is watching, they might not look upon the charity as a positive.
I think sometimes we worry too much about what coaches, assignors, and evaluators think. Some people on this forum seem to make every call while thinking of what someone else is going to think.

I doubt anyone, in reality, is going to notice or care what Jeff did here. It was one call in a meaningless situation. That said, I probably would've called it as it was. I'm not fast enough to make stuff up on the fly. Although we could have a great discussion on out of bounds calls where a bump is ignored in exchange for giving the "right" team the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Dixie
Posts: 71
JRut, I gotta ask: Did the new Trail official get "ahead" of the play, or did the pass go backwards and tangle the new Trail official up in it?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: In a van down by the river, OK
Posts: 120
hmmm

Just call the OOB, you are part of the game/court, stuff happens.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 509
Rut,

You're about 5 levels above where I officiate, but i would rule it as a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 03:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
As this is a once in a career type play, I don't think anyone is really going to care. This isn't like getting hit by the ball. It's taking a player out of the play. IMO, it's a situation that easily lends itself to 2-3.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can an offensive player move into the path of an airbourn defensive player? MiamiWadeCounty Basketball 52 Mon Nov 28, 2011 01:40pm
player hand opposing player ball out of bounds?? Nagy0716 Basketball 2 Tue Nov 24, 2009 04:16am
Illegal Player - NSA Fastpitch Rules (related to other illegal player post) kfrisbee Softball 1 Wed Sep 17, 2008 12:54pm
USC player pushed Kansas player into shooter All_Heart Basketball 23 Tue Dec 05, 2006 03:56pm
Player threatens opposing player TravelinMan Basketball 23 Mon May 31, 2004 12:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1