The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2003, 08:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Tony
Art 5 clearly applies to a player without the ball. It might be able to apply to the defense, though ntohing specifically says it does.
But it does not apply to the guard being airborne and his "right to land," that JR and Jeff claim exists.
Tony,let's try this one.I think that it's the same concept that I'm trying to explain.

You have 2 opponents side-by-side running down the floor.The offensive player could also be the dribbler,but it doesn't really matter.Both opponents have established straight-line paths,and these paths are definitely non-convergent.Neither opponent has got their head and shoulders ahead of the other player.One of the opponents(again it doesn't matter which one)alters their path so that they now make contact with their opponent.Note that a "guarding position" is not a factor,and never was.If you're going to call the foul for the contact,do you call it on the player who initiated the contact,or do you call it on the other player?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1