Quote:
Originally posted by JeffTheRef
must be obtained. Time and distance are not relevant. All you have to do is get two feet on the floor facing the dribbler in the path. Then, indeed, if you maintain that position in front of the dribbler and contact is caused by the dribbler in the area from shoulder to shoulder, it is a player control foul. The defender need not have any feet on the floor . . .
|
Absolutely true, IF the defender stays within his vertical plane. Buit throughout this discussion, we've talked about a defender who is not within his vertical plane. In such a case, the defender is
blocking.
With respect to a MOVING situation away from the ball, time and distance are the issue. Sure, don't have the right to land in front of a moving player if he doesn't have a CHANCE to change direction - and that may be as much as 2 steps.
Quote:
All that being said, the example I started with, and a number of others, are expressive of an interesting, implied rule - a meta rule. All axiomatic systems have to have such things. In this case it is the 'right to land'. I'm sorry I was hasty and didn't restrict the conditions explicitly to begin with.
|
But everytime someone has expressed an "implied rule," I've given an actual rule reference to dispute it. An "implied rule" is nothing more than something one makes up to support his point. That's no one has met my challenge to provide a rule reference that says a defender is entitled to a "right to land." The right doesn't exist.
Quote:
Think about two stationary players. One leaps forward. Can another run and get to the putative landing spot first 'legally'? No.
|
Why not? Please provide the rule that backs this up. Unless the player who jumps is a passer, shooter, or a player catching a pass, there's no rule that states you can't move to that spot before he lands. If there is, show it to me.
Quote:
A practical instance of this are things like a player leaping forward to catch an inbounds pass and a defender, stationary at the time the leap is made, running under the player. And it happens often, and is very hard to see correctly, in rebounding situations.
|
What?
You're applying principles that are not supported by rule or case play.