View Single Post
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2003, 08:45pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Tony
Art 5 clearly applies to a player without the ball. It might be able to apply to the defense, though ntohing specifically says it does.
But it does not apply to the guard being airborne and his "right to land," that JR and Jeff claim exists.
Tony,let's try this one.I think that it's the same concept that I'm trying to explain.

You have 2 opponents side-by-side running down the floor.The offensive player could also be the dribbler,but it doesn't really matter.Both opponents have established straight-line paths,and these paths are definitely non-convergent.Neither opponent has got their head and shoulders ahead of the other player.One of the opponents(again it doesn't matter which one)alters their path so that they now make contact with their opponent.Note that a "guarding position" is not a factor,and never was.If you're going to call the foul for the contact,do you call it on the player who initiated the contact,or do you call it on the other player?
Reply With Quote