View Single Post
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2003, 08:30pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Joe
Although the wording *may* confuse some I read the original post to say the shooter moves into and/or under the defender AFTER the defender jumped. IOW, if the shooter had stayed inside *his* vertical plane there would be no contact. I read this as a nearly stationary shooter prior to the defender's jump.
The offensive player isn't required to stay within his vertical plane, but the defender is. And if he doesn't, he is no longer in a legal guarding position. Read 4-44

Verticality applies to a legal position. The basic components of the principle of verticality are:
ART. 1 Legal guarding position must be obtained initially and movement thereafter must be legal.
ART. 2 From this position, the defender may rise or jump vertically and occupy the space within his/her vertical plane.


Wow! What a statement! As long as the defender stays within his vertical plane, he's legal. What a concept! but you'rer saying he's legal if he goes outside his vertical plane. Do you have a rule that backs this up? No one else has been able to provide one.

Quote:
ART. 3 The hands and arms of the defender may be raised within his/her vertical plane while on the floor or in the air.
ART. 4 The defender should not be penalized for leaving the floor vertically or having his/her hands and arms extended within his/her vertical plane.
Once again, the defender's movements are legal if he stays
Quote:
within his/her vertical plane.
Quote:
ART. 5 The offensive player whether on the floor or airborne, may not "clear out" or cause contact within the defender' s vertical plane which is a foul.
Once again, it's a foul on the offense if he violates the defender's vertical plane, not if he jumps where the defender is also jumping.


Quote:
>I'm not talking about a player who kicks his leg out.

Does it matter what body part (;-/) the shooter uses to draw contact?
Certainly it does. See 4-23-1.

A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.

I've provided rule references to back up my statements. Can you?
Reply With Quote