![]() |
|
|
|||
No, the defender is clearly going into the shooter. The defender has a right to defend his spot on the floor up to the ceiling, not the spots in front of the spot.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Is the shooter whos driving to the rack not moving into the defender as well?
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. Last edited by bainsey; Tue Feb 28, 2012 at 11:58am. |
|
|||
I know none of my college supervisors would be happy with me if I called a foul on this play. Back in my 2nd season of college ball I believe the words one of my supervisors used on me when I worked a game with 2 officials who had D3 Final Four on their resumes was "high school calls" when differentiating my call selection from theirs.
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I think I found the crux. A high school official is probably all I'll ever be.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
See post #45 for a clear picture of the intent & purpose of the RA. Quote:
So as a man thinketh...
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
1. I don't have the defender moving into the shooter.
2. The NCAA RA rules currently make no mention/exception/allowance for a player blocking or attempting to block a shot. 3. The key in my mind, and what I was driving at, is what JRut and a couple of others mentioned briefly, and what I asked APG: That, in this play, the official needs to determine if the contact is illegal, as specifically mentioned in the RA rules - because this secondary defender cannot establish initial legal guarding position in the RA - regardless of what they do after they establish there (i.e. all of the verticality/clean block up top discussion), or if it was incidental. That's why I posed the question of same situation, but defender never leaves the ground, and the shooter still ends up on the floor like they do in the film clip. We (I think) all understand/know that a play where the defender establishes their guarding position in the RA and then contact occurs with the defender in/above the RA that results in both players hitting the ground will be a blocking foul (flopping/atypical situations aside). What I'm asking is when the defender doesn't hit the ground, or get seriously displaced, but the shooter does, what should we have? Edit for this coach discussion with official after my play: Coach: "HOW IS THAT A NOT A FOUL?" Official: "THE DEFENDER DIDN'T DO ANYTHING ILLEGAL, COACH." Coach: "THE DEFENDER CANNOT ESTABLISH LEGAL GUARDING POSITION THERE! SO DOESN'T THAT MAKE HIM ILLEGAL WHEN CONTACT HAPPENS WITH MY SHOOTER?" Official: "I HAD ONLY INCIDENTAL CONTACT THERE, COACH." Coach: "THAT'S A HE** OF A LOT OF INCIDENTAL CONTACT THAT RESULTS IN MY AIRBORNE SHOOTER LANDING ON HIS A** UNDER THE BASKET!" Official: "................"
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Tue Feb 28, 2012 at 12:17pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
"This restriction shall not prohibit a defender, located within the restricted area, from attempting to block a shot." To me, the RA has always been about secondary defenders trying to get into position to draw a charge on an opponent. A defender who jumps verticality is not setting up to draw a charge, but playing active defense, and thus the RA shouldn't apply.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Since Bainsy seems to be getting beaten up in here
How can that much contact not result in a foul? You can say fans are stupid and don't know the rules (most don't and this is a true statement most of the time) but when they see a guy go up for a layup and get clobbered I don't think it is unreasonable to expect a foul call.
A1 is airborn before B1 even takes off, B1 comes in chopping downward hard and creates significant contact. He is not vertical at all, he comes from opposite side, he takes off in the middle of the circle and contact occurs outside the circle, he would have landed outside the lane if no contact. Whether he got ball clean up top before contact has nothing to do with anything. So by most in here the little guys should not even bother taking anything in the lane because if the big guy comes through you and gets ball first its not a foul??? And for those that didn't see the finish of the game, they called a touch foul on Missouri on an out of control KU player with 8 seconds left in OT for the go ahead free throws. |
|
|||
I suppose the important thing is that we ask the right questions, i.e., verticality, hindering, etc.
That said, I've been ignoring the sideline camera, because we never get that look, but from that view, it seems that #0 White jumps into the shooter laterally. Of course, a defender can move laterally, but wouldn't jumping into the shooter from that direction result in a blocking foul? If not, why not?
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
Not only was he moving into the defender, he clearly moved the defender back, and continued to move forward himself after the contact as well.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When a block is a foul | KenL.nation | Basketball | 47 | Thu Jun 17, 2010 05:31pm |
Question about Stat on Foul - Block | CoachAZ | Basketball | 10 | Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:13pm |
Consensus - Clean Block Signal? | rfp | Basketball | 15 | Thu Nov 16, 2006 03:41pm |
Roughing passer or "clean hands" foul? | bigwhistle | Football | 7 | Mon Nov 03, 2003 01:23am |
Block foul | Jim Dixon | Basketball | 0 | Wed Mar 15, 2000 10:18am |