The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member

Question about Stat on Foul - Block

Please excuse any bad nominclature on my part. I am a coach - stat man, not an official.

A1 has the ball and is driving for a layup. B1 (The defender) cleanly blocks the shot. About 2/10 of a second later (we have video), B1 falls into A1 and official correctly calls foul. The sign was a "PUSH". So should the block count as a block, or did the foul negate the block? Not that it matters score wise, but I want to be accurate in scoring the stats. My thinking is if the block attempt caused the foul, it is negated, but in this case, the contact was below and clearly after the block.

Thanks
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 01:55pm
Do not give a damn!!

Most of us would not know unless we had some background in stats. There are no rules that tell us what constitutes a block, assist or steal. As an official (alone) we are no more qualified to know this than you would.

I would assume that if a foul is called you would not get credit for a block. But that is a big assumption on my part. And you know what they say about people when they assume.

Peace
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 02:01pm
Keeper of the HAMMER

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
And you know what they say about people when they assume.
They officiate in Nevada?
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 02:03pm
Do not give a damn!!

That is cold.

Peace
Old Thu Dec 18, 2008, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Most of us would not know unless we had some background in stats. There are no rules that tell us what constitutes a block, assist or steal. As an official (alone) we are no more qualified to know this than you would.