The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2012, 11:18pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
We have had this discussion before, but I would have a charge. The defender did not do anything wrong. LGP is for a player that has established a legal position and has rights to move. This player did not move, they just stood there. Every player has a right to their position on the floor and nothing gives the ball handler the right to run into any player they like.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2012, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 47
To take this a step further - if you believed that B1 "embelished" and was trying to draw the foul - in other words, the contact was not severe enough that it would cause B1 to be displaced, would you go with a no-call or a block on B1?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2012, 11:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
To take this a step further - if you believed that B1 "embelished" and was trying to draw the foul - in other words, the contact was not severe enough that it would cause B1 to be displaced, would you go with a no-call or a block on B1?
I would try my best to call what the contact created. If the contact did not affect anything, then I got nothing. If the contact really affected the play then I have a call. But if all the defender did was stand there, I cannot see anything I would call on B1 in this case.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 23, 2012, 11:48pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
A1 drives the lane.

B1 is set and standing on the lane line and is not moving, is vertical, etc, however, is not facing A1's torso.

On the drive, A1 contacts B1's shoulder.

A1 is not hindered and B1 falls to the ground. Since A1 hit B1's shoulder, would that be a charge on A1, Block on B1, or a "no call" (if B1 decided to embelish and go down to the ground)?

Thanks!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
To take this a step further - if you believed that B1 "embelished" and was trying to draw the foul - in other words, the contact was not severe enough that it would cause B1 to be displaced, would you go with a no-call or a block on B1?
Definitely not a block. Ever.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Block or Charge cropduster Basketball 13 Tue Nov 07, 2006 08:02am
Block/Charge IREFU2 Basketball 28 Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm
Block - Charge (consider this) footlocker Basketball 35 Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm
Block/Charge drinkeii Basketball 16 Thu Dec 19, 2002 01:05am
block/charge wolfe44 Basketball 11 Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1