![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
And the rule citations are...
NFHS 4-44-3
After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a *dribble. and NCAA 4-72-4 After coming to a stop and establishing the pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal; b. The pivot foot shall not be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble. |
|
|||
|
It's a travel only if dropping the ball starts a dribble. But it's not a dribble until he touches the ball again: until then, it might be a pass, which is legal. Too soon to whistle the violation.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
AS the OP is described, I agree. But, if the official judged the player didn't drop the ball until he returned to the floor, or judged that the player pushed the ball down to start a dribble, ...
|
|
|||
|
Bob,
The ball was dropped while still in the air without a doubt. I talked to the official after the game, he thought it was a violation for dropping the ball. So next ? Violation if he tries to start a dribble after jumping I will edit to add, READ THE RULE DUMMY, I see the answer to my question........ no wonder you guys get so aggravated Last edited by bigda65; Sun Feb 19, 2012 at 09:30am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
4-15-1 A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once OR several times. He does not have to touch the ball a second time for it to be considered a dribble. As an official, you have to make a judgment as to whether it was a dribble or a pass. In this situation, where he is obviously trying to avoid returning to the floor with the ball, in my judgment I have the start of a dribble. I've yet to ever see a player make a pass to a teammate by dropping the ball at his own feet.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So what was the verdict - 2 against the world, or is it truely the start of a dribble? |
|
|||
|
No verdict, but I agree with Tony. The official must judge it. Sometimes, that judgement is delayed (or changed) to see what else happens. Sometimes, it's instantaneous.
|
|
|||
|
My judgement (for what it is worth). I did not think it was the start of a dribble, he dropped the ball to keep it from being a violation. It definately wasnt a shot, definately not a pass (only defenders around him).
|
|
|||
|
Who You Gonna Call ???
![]() When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a held ball. If, in this situation, the shooter loses control of the ball because of the block, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues. If, in this situation, the defender simply touches the ball, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor holding the ball, it’s a traveling violation. When an airborne player tries for goal, sees that the try will be blocked, purposely drops the ball, and picks up the ball after it hits the floor, that player has traveled by starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
The only way to know if it is a start of a dribble, is if it bounces from the floor back up to the ballhandler, without touching or being touched by another player.
Think of a player intercepting a pass, in his backcourt, and with a clear path to his basket, he throws, bats, pushes the ball, way out in front of him, to start the dribble. He may take several steps, before contacting the ball, again. When he does get to the ball, if he bats the ball to the floor, it's a dribble. If he catches the ball, it's the end of the dribble. If another player gets to the ball, first, it's just a pass, or an itercepted pass/turnover.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
BBR, I understand your point. In this exact case, where you stated that his intention was to not commit a violation, I dont see your point of stating it is the start of a dribble! I honestly believe he was trying to not turn the ball over, not starting a dribble. I think he knew he couldnt do anything at that point, other than drop the ball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You don't see my point of stating it is the start of a dribble. So which is it, you see my point or you don't?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| To call or not to call.............goaltending that is! | SCalScoreKeeper | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 12, 2011 06:31pm |
| ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 28 | Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm |
| To call or not to call foul ball | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 11 | Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am |
| More Pacers/Pistons call/no call | OverAndBack | Basketball | 36 | Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm |
| Does one call relate to the last call? | Tee | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm |