The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tebo2526 View Post
What is the official ruling on entering the lane during FT attempts. I know you can't after the shooter has been given the ball but what if the shooter sees a teammate heading in and the official doesn't, and quietly steps aside as he is thrown the ball. In other words, the ball just bounds right past him? Sounds strange I know, but I saw it happen. Still called a violation which I assume is right.
Did he move completely out of the semi-circle? Just asking cause that isn't a violation, it's a T.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 04:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Did he move completely out of the semi-circle? Just asking cause that isn't a violation, it's a T.
Even if he stays in the circle, I see this as the best example of 10-3-5a that I can think of.

Calling the violation is giving the shooting team a break, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Did he move completely out of the semi-circle? Just asking cause that isn't a violation, it's a T.
No, just took a step to his right and let the pass from the official go right past him.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tebo2526 View Post
No, just took a step to his right and let the pass from the official go right past him.
T for preventing the ball from being made live (10-3-5A).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
T for preventing the ball from being made live (10-3-5A).
This is not correct. The technical foul rule which you cite isn't appropriate for this particular action.

There is a play ruling stating that the official should place the ball on the floor at the FT line if the thrower refuses to accept it. The ball would become live at that point.

There is no violation prior to the ball becoming live.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is not correct. The technical foul rule which you cite isn't appropriate for this particular action.

There is a play ruling stating that the official should place the ball on the floor at the FT line if the thrower refuses to accept it. The ball would become live at that point.

There is no violation prior to the ball becoming live.
So it's a T if the shooter isn't there (10.3.5), but if he's there and pointedly refuses the ball, you just chase down the bouncing ball, give him a finger wag, and issue your do-over? Meanwhile, team A has benefited by allowing A2 extra time to get into the lane.

Where's the play? (Not that I don't believe you, but well, you know....)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So it's a T if the shooter isn't there (10.3.5), but if he's there and pointedly refuses the ball, you just chase down the bouncing ball, give him a finger wag, and issue your do-over? Meanwhile, team A has benefited by allowing A2 extra time to get into the lane.

Where's the play? (Not that I don't believe you, but well, you know....)

PLACING AT DISPOSAL
8.1.1 SITUATION A:
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the players have had
sufficient opportunity and time to take their positions for the first throw, the
administering official bounces the ball to the free thrower. Did the official follow
proper procedure?
RULING: Yes. On free throws, the word “disposal,” is interpreted
to mean that the official shall bounce the ball to the free thrower, but if the

free thrower refuses to accept it, the official may place the ball on the floor at the
free-throw line and begin the count. This procedure constitutes putting the ball at
the free-thrower’s disposal. However, in this situation, the ball becomes live when
it is caught by the free thrower. (4-4-7b)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 06:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,525
It's The Same As Not Listening To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Where's the play? (Not that I don't believe you, but well, you know.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post

PLACING AT DISPOSAL
8.1.1 SITUATION A:
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the players have had
sufficient opportunity and time to take their positions for the first throw, the
administering official bounces the ball to the free thrower. Did the official follow
proper procedure?
RULING: Yes. On free throws, the word “disposal,” is interpreted
to mean that the official shall bounce the ball to the free thrower, but if the

free thrower refuses to accept it, the official may place the ball on the floor at the
free-throw line and begin the count. This procedure constitutes putting the ball at
the free-thrower’s disposal. However, in this situation, the ball becomes live when
it is caught by the free thrower. (4-4-7b)
Snaqwells: You dare to question the "Forum Citation King". Nevaderef spends all of his free time reading caseplays, incluing caseplays from twenty years ago.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in/illegal entry/technical StripesOhio Basketball 15 Mon Feb 08, 2010 06:25pm
DH Re-entry upscout2000 Baseball 1 Sun Apr 08, 2007 02:33pm
Illegal re-entry Larks Softball 4 Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:07am
ASA - illegal re-entry Dakota Softball 3 Mon Feb 04, 2002 06:04pm
Illegal Re-entry? Sven Basketball 12 Sat Jan 13, 2001 12:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1