View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 16, 2012, 05:26pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So it's a T if the shooter isn't there (10.3.5), but if he's there and pointedly refuses the ball, you just chase down the bouncing ball, give him a finger wag, and issue your do-over? Meanwhile, team A has benefited by allowing A2 extra time to get into the lane.

Where's the play? (Not that I don't believe you, but well, you know....)

PLACING AT DISPOSAL
8.1.1 SITUATION A:
A1 is awarded two free throws. After the players have had
sufficient opportunity and time to take their positions for the first throw, the
administering official bounces the ball to the free thrower. Did the official follow
proper procedure?
RULING: Yes. On free throws, the word “disposal,” is interpreted
to mean that the official shall bounce the ball to the free thrower, but if the

free thrower refuses to accept it, the official may place the ball on the floor at the
free-throw line and begin the count. This procedure constitutes putting the ball at
the free-thrower’s disposal. However, in this situation, the ball becomes live when
it is caught by the free thrower. (4-4-7b)
Reply With Quote