The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:53am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
JugglingReferee, MByron, and Snaqs:

I edited my OP to include the relevant NFHS and NCAA rules.

Yes it is an automatic foul.

As I have already stated, V2 put his two hands on H1's back while violating H1's Cylinder of Verticalty thereby preventing him from standing up. To use the words of the actual rule: V2's contact inhibited H1's freedom of movement.

We certainly do not wait to see if H5's FGA is succesful before calling a Foul in the Act of Shooting against V5 do we?

MTD, Sr.
Mark, you're completely ignoring 4-27-3 (NFHS),
Quote:
Contact which does not hinder the opponent from participating in normal defensive or offensive movements should be considered incidental.
We may be seeing this play differently, but I'm picturing an airborne B1 whose hands are on A1 for all of .5 second as he flies out of bounds. A1 is neither moved nor prevented from moving.

No, I don't wait to see if the shot is successful, but I do wait to see if it's affected. Don't you?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSBQ IREFU2 Basketball 16 Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1