The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 10:50am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
It seems to me that V2 violated H1's Cylinder of Verticality and while doing so made contact with H1, thereby preventing him from standing upright. That sounds like illegal contact to me.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 10:58am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,989
The RSBQ concept is applied to offensive players in motion. Does the contact by the defender impair the offensive player's rhythym, speed, balance, or quickness? If so, then call a foul.

H1 was standing still. I'm most likely going to judge this by advantage/disadvantage. Did V2's contact prevent H1 from making a play? Did V2's contact cause H1 to travel or step on the end line?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Feb 10, 2012 at 11:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:03am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
It seems to me that V2 violated H1's Cylinder of Verticality and while doing so made contact with H1, thereby preventing him from standing upright. That sounds like illegal contact to me.

MTD, Sr.
What in the OP suggests to you that H tried to stand upright while V was in the cylinder?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:07am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
What in the OP suggests to you that H tried to stand upright while V was in the cylinder?

The fact that V2 put two hands on H1's back is a pretty good indicator of illegal contact.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:10am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
The fact that V2 put two hands on H1's back is a pretty good indicator of illegal contact.

MTD, Sr.
And how was H disadvantaged?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:17am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
And how was H disadvantaged?

Everybody listen up: The key to this play is the Principal of Verticality.

It does not matter if V2 was jumping over H1 when he put his two hands on H1's back or he was standing next to H1 when he put his two hands on H1's back. V2's contact with H1 prevented H1 from standing up within his Cylinder of Verticality.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. See the following:

NFHS R10-S6-A3: "A player shall not use his/her hands on an opponent in any way that inhibits the freedom of movement of the opponent or acts as an aid to a player in starting or stopping."

NCAA R10-S1-A3: "A player shall not use his or her hand(s) on an opponent to inhibit the freedom of movement of the opponent in any way or to aid an opponent in starting or stopping."
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Fri Feb 10, 2012 at 11:28am. Reason: Added P.S.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:21am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Everybody listen up: The key to this play is the Principal of Verticality.

It does not matter if V2 was jumping over H1 when he put his two hands on H1's back or he was standing next to H1 when he put his two hands on H1's back. V2's contact with H1 prevented H1 from standing up within his Cylinder of Verticality.

MTD, Sr.
It sounds to me like you rule this an automatic foul.

For me, it's not automatic.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
V2's contact with H1 prevented H1 from standing up within his Cylinder of Verticality.
Granted. How do you know that constitutes a disadvantage in every case?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:30am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
For the brief moment contact was made, I would have to see an obvious attempt to get upright before I call this foul. Unless he actually prevents A1 from normal offensive movement, I'm letting this go.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2012, 11:38am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,174
JugglingReferee, MByron, and Snaqs:

I edited my OP to include the relevant NFHS and NCAA rules.

Yes it is an automatic foul.

As I have already stated, V2 put his two hands on H1's back while violating H1's Cylinder of Verticalty thereby preventing him from standing up. To use the words of the actual rule: V2's contact inhibited H1's freedom of movement.

We certainly do not wait to see if H5's FGA is succesful before calling a Foul in the Act of Shooting against V5 do we?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 11, 2012, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Everybody listen up: The key to this play is the Principal of Verticality.

It does not matter if V2 was jumping over H1 when he put his two hands on H1's back or he was standing next to H1 when he put his two hands on H1's back. V2's contact with H1 prevented H1 from standing up within his Cylinder of Verticality.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. See the following:

NFHS R10-S6-A3: "A player shall not use his/her hands on an opponent in any way that inhibits the freedom of movement of the opponent or acts as an aid to a player in starting or stopping."

NCAA R10-S1-A3: "A player shall not use his or her hand(s) on an opponent to inhibit the freedom of movement of the opponent in any way or to aid an opponent in starting or stopping."
These same concepts of principal of verticality and moving within it can apply to what fans call over the back. Now we all know its not a foul, but if B1 puts his arms over A1's back shouldn't you call a foul because A1 might have jumped and B1's arms in A1's vertical space prevented it.

Just saying. It is a slippery slope if you are going to call fouls on what a player may have been prevented from doing if he had tried doing it. Call what did happen and not what might have happened. This is a good no call if there was no displacement. What if this had happened in a 1 point ball game with 10 seconds and the player could have passed the ball up ahead to a waiting team mate for the winning bucket? If you call the foul when the player was not disadvantaged then you prevent them from possibly winning the game. Incidental contact is defined as contact that does not rise to the point of a foul and does not prevent a defensive or offensive player from performing his/her duties. This is a paraphrase of course, but that is basically the idea of incidental contact. It seems like this was just incidental contact, unless you are of the opinion that "two of anything" in contact with the player with the ball is ALWAYS a foul.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSBQ IREFU2 Basketball 16 Fri Oct 21, 2005 11:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1