![]() |
|
|
|||
My take to your question is found in the rule 4-41-1 where it says "the act of shooting ends when the ball is clearly in flight", meaning there is absolutely no doubt in the official's mind that the ball has left the player's hand. If there is doubt, then rule the player was still in the act.
Last edited by billyu2; Sun Feb 12, 2012 at 10:24pm. |
|
|||
whatcha got?
Had one along these lines this weekend. Boys soph. A2 catches rebound (flat-footed on the ground), almost in triple-threat position, ball about shoulder height — actually commendable he doesn't lower the ball much (says this old coach). Of course he's going to put it back up, but he's not doing it yet and has clearly hesitated.
Whack comes B2 on the arm ... tweet ... pause ... then up goes the flick of the shot. I had them inbounding on the endline and sold it so nobody on the floor complained (other than the HC who "helped" us much of the game). Kind of disjointed play. Partner said later he would have given the two FTAs based on the "gathering" principle. Except the ball wasn't moving or being gathered. In retrospect, it would have been easy to just give the FTAs. Did I totally kick it or have much justification for the way it was handled? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Act of Shooting? | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 2 | Sat Jan 22, 2011 01:04pm |
Shooting into the sun | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 22 | Thu Apr 03, 2008 10:20pm |
Q from 1st Year: Shooting Foul on blocked shot | ca_rumperee | Basketball | 22 | Fri Feb 01, 2008 01:33pm |
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? | brightstripes54 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm |
Act of Shooting? | gymrat | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jan 12, 2001 03:45pm |