The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
As we've discussed before, however, this case play contradicts the actual rule, 5-2-1.
I assert that it doesn't. The way I read 5-2-1, there is no contradiction at all. If you have two ways to read it and one generates a contradiction and the other one doesn't that should tell you something about the contradictory interpretation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Does it matter that the ball in the A.R. is a pass, while the game situation was a try?
Once the ball clearly misses, is it still a try? If it can no longer be goaltending, it is no longer a try.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 05:23pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
How does it contradict?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I assert that it doesn't. The way I read 5-2-1, there is no contradiction at all. If you have two ways to read it and one generates a contradiction and the other one doesn't that should tell you something about the contradictory interpretation.
NFHS 5-2-1: "A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown."

A ball that is thrown from outside the arc and doesn't touch the floor, a teammate, or an official counts as three points. I'm not sure how there's any other way to read that. There's no mention of whether the original throw has the chance to go in. All it says is that if it starts outside the arc, it's three points unless one of those other things happens. That contradicts the case play.

Quote:
Once the ball clearly misses, is it still a try? If it can no longer be goaltending, it is no longer a try.
Neither is it a pass, however. And the NCAA A.R. states specifically that it deals with a ball that is "passed". I'm not saying that it DOES make a difference, I'm just asking whether it makes a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
APG, see if you can pull it the foul Cahill called on McAdoo on the Duke 3 point shooter.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
NFHS 5-2-1: "A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown."

A ball that is thrown from outside the arc and doesn't touch the floor, a teammate, or an official counts as three points. I'm not sure how there's any other way to read that. There's no mention of whether the original throw has the chance to go in. All it says is that if it starts outside the arc, it's three points unless one of those other things happens. That contradicts the case play.

Neither is it a pass, however. And the NCAA A.R. states specifically that it deals with a ball that is "passed". I'm not saying that it DOES make a difference, I'm just asking whether it makes a difference.
In doesn't make a difference in the counting of points, in that we do not have to judge the difference between a pass and a try when the ball goes through the basket. One possible play come to mind - A1 outside the arc puts up an alley-oop pass, but the teammate mis-times his jump, misses the ball entirely, but the ball still goes in. We all know it was a pass, but we get to count 3 points. But, let's say A1 is fouled; we still need to know the difference between a try and a pass for other portions of the rules.

In the original play, since we know it's a try, 4-41-2 applies, and thus once the try ended (certain it is unsuccessful), a new "play" starts and the ball originated in the 2-point area. I believe all they did with the case plays was just emphasize we do not have to judge intent on any "thrown" ball originating outside the arc to determine 2 or 3 points. All other rules still apply, such as judging it's a try for the purpose of calling fouls or determining when the try ends.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
NFHS 5-2-1: "A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown."

A ball that is thrown from outside the arc and doesn't touch the floor, a teammate, or an official counts as three points. I'm not sure how there's any other way to read that. There's no mention of whether the original throw has the chance to go in. All it says is that if it starts outside the arc, it's three points unless one of those other things happens. That contradicts the case play.

Neither is it a pass, however. And the NCAA A.R. states specifically that it deals with a ball that is "passed". I'm not saying that it DOES make a difference, I'm just asking whether it makes a difference.
Isn't the definition of a pass a thrown ball that goes to another player?

The underlying principle of the NFHS rule as expressed by the NFHS when the rule was changed is that a ball that, as thrown, has a chance to go in need not be judged as to intent....but we still have to judge if it has a chance to go in. Once we decide it no longer can go in without additional interaction, the opportunity to count it as 3 points has ended....otherwise we'd have goaltending. Any other event which causes it to go in is a new act and is judged based on its own circumstances. It is no longer the original "thrown ball". It it were any other way, case 4.41.4B wouldn't exist.

From another angle, since we don't have to judge pass vs. try, change the word try to pass in case 4.41.4B. And change shoulder to hand (the specific body part, as long as it is not illegal, shouldn't matter).

Don't get stuck in the vacuum of 5-2-1. It is talking about a specific class of situations that were well covered and discussed when it was introduced. It was never intended nor meant to apply to a pass that never had a chance to enter the basket. It was essentially written for alley-oop plays that went directly in.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 05:09am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
APG, thanks for taking the time to post these for the rest of us - on many occasions. Big help in reviewing what everyone is talking about!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
last second shot Duke/NC

I was always taught on last second made shot to first signal basket good, then three signal if applicable. I didn't see that last night.

1) clear it was good, no need to confirm?
2) not a NCAAM mechanic
3) not a fed mechanic
4) just forgot.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
I was always taught on last second made shot to first signal basket good, then three signal if applicable. I didn't see that last night.

1) clear it was good, no need to confirm?
2) not a NCAAM mechanic
3) not a fed mechanic
4) just forgot.
The C went up with the 3 attempt and then the touchdown when it went in, which is more than enough. Signaling a made field goal by "scoring" it then going to the TD signal would've been redundant. The only way the shot wouldn't have counted is if Rivers hadn't released it before time expired, in which case the C (hopefully) would've been waving it off as soon as the horn sounded.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
I was always taught on last second made shot to first signal basket good, then three signal if applicable. I didn't see that last night.

1) clear it was good, no need to confirm?
2) not a NCAAM mechanic
3) not a fed mechanic
4) just forgot.
I'd vote for 5) -- you were taught incorrectly, or don't remember what you were taught.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'd vote for 5) -- you were taught incorrectly, or don't remember what you were taught.

At my age, I'll opt for don't remember what I was taught.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2012, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 574
not to hijack this thread about the 3 vs 2 tip in....ok...i'll hijack....

I would not have called a travel on the Curry 3pt shot.

caught ball with right foot on ground.
put left foot down (pivot foot) = 1 step
then double tapped his right foot = 2 step
then left floor to shoot.

it looked funny; but I would only have called a travel IF his right foot WAS NOT already on the ground prior to catching the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke vs. UNC IREFU2 Basketball 21 Wed Mar 08, 2006 04:19pm
Duke vs. BC IREFU2 Basketball 57 Mon Feb 06, 2006 04:40pm
UNC vs. Duke IREFU2 Basketball 8 Mon Mar 07, 2005 01:56pm
VT vs. Duke brandan89 Basketball 16 Tue Feb 01, 2005 04:28pm
UVA vs Duke Suppref Basketball 15 Sat Feb 17, 2001 09:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1