![]() |
|
|||
This was posted on the NCAA Womens site on 2/21/12 by Deb Williamson:
Quote: 2/21/12 Throw-in violations (Rule 9-5.1.b) The interpretation of 9-5.1.b has been that when a player is standing on a boundary line or straddling a boundary line when she catches a passed ball from a thrower-in, that player has caused the ball to be out of bounds and the subsequent throw-in would be on the sideline. The following graphic was used in the 2007-2008 clinics to illustrate this interpretation: Throw-in Ends • When a player, who is located on the playing court, touches and causes the ball to be out of bounds, This throw-in has ended and the new throw-in spot will be on the sideline The clock does not start This interpretation has been in effect for many years and will remain in effect until the Rules Committee reconsiders its position in May 2012. A recommendation will be made to alter this interpretation, but in the meantime, officials are expected to continue using the current interpretation as illustrated above. This interpretation is not be confused with a situation in which a passed ball from a thrower-in doesn’t touch any player who has a foot on the playing court. In that case, the throw-in spot will be the original throw-in spot. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA Case Play 1-57 | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 7 | Sat Feb 14, 2009 09:25am |
Case Play 4.2.3 sit E | dumbref | Football | 4 | Sun Oct 22, 2006 06:29pm |
NCAA lag time rule book vs. case play | oc | Basketball | 3 | Sun Jul 09, 2006 02:20pm |
Case Play | ejstuart | Soccer | 3 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am |
FED case play 8.1.1L | David Emerling | Baseball | 5 | Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:58am |