![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Ick. Starting position of the second trail aside, I've added this to a playlist under:
"Anticipate the play" and "Get the angle to see the space between players"
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired. |
|
|||
|
Does it not seem that the tableside official was actually working T not C? That would explain why he's deeper than the opposite side official and why he's moving to become new L on the turnover instead of staying C and the opposite side official stays at C instead of moving to become new L.
It raises the question as to why the throw-in was administered by C but it at least explains that the tableside guy is doing. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Definitely a case of an official who initially sets up way too high as the C. Then he appears to be confused by A2 who breaks into the backcourt. IMO I think his concentration was off on the whole play from being engaged in a conversation with the coach when the ball when was getting ready to be put in play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree, notice the asst. coaches pulling the HC back. I bet anything he was frazzled. But you can really blame the T in this position, the C signal to him he was ready. This appears to be from Cape Giradeau, MO - Show Me Center. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Wow! There's a lot going on there. First of all, I agree with everyone that the C is way too high. It also looks like he may have lost himself a little and started to go the wrong way on the throw in. I'm sure we've all done this.
I think the bigger picture may be how the crew dropped the ball. Looking at the situation as a crew, first of all, I think the T put the ball in play too quickly. The C was just finishing a conversation with the coach. Why not give him a second to get composed. I always say in pregame, the biggest mistakes I've made on the floor have been due to getting in a hurry. We always can slow down and prevent some mistakes. Also as a crew, this seems to be late in a competitive game. Why isn't someone else coming in with a late whistle on the foul, especially seeing that their C has completely abandoned the play. T especailly should have come across and got this, even L may have a decent look, but above all we have to remember to get the obvious. Also, as a crew, give that last double whistle to the T, get the guy that is in hot soup away from the table. Obviously the coach is going to get a T, but C has himself deep in the soup, try to get him away as quickly as possible. |
|
|||
|
I'm not quite as concerned as others about the positioning of the crew. (although it helps to be I the correct spots to see the play...
...).What bothers me is that no foul was called...by ANYONE! That contact HAS to be called regardless of where you're positioned. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
As for the throw-in being administered too soon, I don't buy it. At 0:08 on the clip the C - or the guy who should be C - gives a thumbs up to the T indicating he's ready to go. It's another six seconds before the whistle is blown and the ball is placed at the disposal of the throw-in team. Six seconds may not seem like a lot of time but it's more than enough for the C to realize he should be in a different spot. Six seconds is also enough time for the T to either stare down the C with a "where the heck are you going?" look or just blatently wave at him to move forward so he's in the right spot. The C might've been embarrassed at the moment but he would've thanked the T after it was over. Regarding the foul, I definintely agree with the idea that somebody has to see/call that. The coach for Blue may complain if the call comes from the T and it comes late but he'd have a tough time arguing there was no foul. As far as handing out the T is concerned, given what the coach did ANYONE could've taken him. It didn't have to be the guy who was already in the soup. It's not as though all three of them didn't notice he was screaming at their partner by the division line. Last edited by JetMetFan; Tue Feb 07, 2012 at 01:42pm. Reason: misspelled word |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 'Bama/Ole Miss final play | sloth | Football | 6 | Mon Oct 15, 2007 03:01pm |
| Final Final Final List of Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules | BillyMac | Basketball | 1 | Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:23am |
| Did you see final play of ALA-WASH | williebfree | Basketball | 4 | Sun Nov 28, 2004 05:31am |
| Pitched ball out of play, final decision | scottk_61 | Softball | 4 | Tue Apr 06, 2004 06:13am |
| NIT game one of final four | Buck Wu | Basketball | 2 | Wed Mar 29, 2000 10:21pm |