![]() |
|
|
|||
Backcourt Violation Question
Great forum, I'm glad I found it. I had a back court violation situation come up a few weeks ago and wanted to get your take on it.
A1 is in backcourt being pressured by B1. A1 attempts to pass the ball into the front court where it is first deflected by B2 and a scramble ensues. During the scramble A2 is moving toward half court from the top of the key and gains control of the ball near midcourt with one hand by pushing it to the floor and dribbling away. During that first dribble the ball literally landed on the mid court stripe and the player I ruled back court as the ball and A2 had front court status, and A2 gained player (and team control for A) on the first dribble. A's HC argued that control couldn't possibly exist on the first "dribble" and therefore it shouldn't have been a back court. I viewed A2 as having control of the ball beginning with the very first tap to the floor. Thoughs? |
|
|||
Am I mistaken in thinking that for a BCV to occur there must first be team control in the FC?
|
|
||||
Quote:
PC is required to establish TC; but not to maintain it. While A1's pass to A2 is in the air, TC continues. TC must be in place. The ball must gain FC status (it did this in your play when B2 touched it). The team in control must be the last to touch it before it goes to the BC (A2's bat). The team in control must be the first to touch it after it goes to the BC (A2's touch after the bat).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
No. All that matters is that there is team control, it doesn't matter which side of the court.
|
|
|||
Quote:
If there's TC in the BC, and the ball reaches the FC, then there's "TC in the FC". This can happen even if no one touches the ball in the FC. It can also happen if a player touches (but does not control) the ball in the FC. There does NOT need to be PC in the FC to have a BC violation, or to establish "TC in the FC." Some like to combine the 4 criteria (listed by APG in post 4, I think) into 3 (with the first being "TC in the FC"). Your confusion shows why I think it's better to separate them. |
|
|||
Quote:
Are you sure about that?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
I debated this when I typed it, and figured someone would question it. I'm not positive, but under the principal that a dribbler is OOB when he steps on the OOB line even if it's not at the same moment he's in contact with the ball, I think so. I see it as continuous control, just like the OOB play.
That said, you really don't know it's a dribble until he touches it again, so in practice, it won't be called until he touches it after that bounce.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
One huge difference in the out of bounds play and the backcourt play.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
The backcourt rule has no dependence on player control. It is not a violation to cause the ball to be in the backcourt at any time (with or without player control). It only depends on being the first to touch the ball after it has gone to the backcourt (assuming the other criteria have already been met). That would be when the dribble returned to the hand. On a related situation....what if a PLAYER stepped on the division line between dribbles, then, resumes contact only with the FC before dribbling again. Does the ball ever gain backcourt status? Refer to the definition of ball location (Rule 4-4). Rule 9-3-1 NOTE makes it a violation for a dribbler to step OOB but I don't see anywhere that says the concept applies to the division line. Does it? By the letter of the rules, it seems that the ball is only in the backcourt when it is actually in contact the backcourt directly or with a player who currently has backcourt status by either being in contact with the backcourt or being airborne having jumped from the backcourt). By practice and common sense, I feel the OOB NOTE probably should apply to the division line as well, but I don't think the rules, as written, necessarily support that.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
The four criteria for a backcourt violation (NCAA and NFHS):
1. Team control (and initial player control when coming from a throw-in) 2. Ball achieves a front court status 3. Team in control is last to touch the ball before the ball achieves a backcourt status 4. Team in control is the first to touch the ball after the ball achieves a backcourt status. A2 didn't need to establish player control. As soon as A2 touched the ball, he gave the ball frontcourt status. We still have team control because TC continues during passing activity. A2 then was the first to touched the ball after it gained a backcourt status (by virtue of batting the ball to the division line), and was the first to touch the ball after it achieved a backcourt status.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
A1 (in the BC) attempts to pass the ball to A2 (in the FC). The ball is deflected by B2 (in the FC) giving the ball FC status. The ball is now loose in the FC when A3 gains control using a dribble which strikes the mid court line.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A different backcourt violation question | MJT | Basketball | 5 | Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:57am |
Another backcourt violation question | sseltser | Basketball | 16 | Fri Nov 06, 2009 07:01am |
Another backcourt violation question | edge62 | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 24, 2005 02:54pm |
Backcourt Violation Question | manhong | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 08:34am |
backcourt violation question | pank | Basketball | 4 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 05:58pm |