The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No technical on anybody. If the coach was not notified, the player was not disqualified.
This, and most states allow for direct and indirect T's for situations like this. In our state a coach walks after two direct T's, or any combination of 3 direct and indirect t's.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 12:38am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
This, and most states allow for direct and indirect T's for situations like this.
Situations like what?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 12:41am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
This, and most states allow for direct and indirect T's for situations like this. In our state a coach walks after two direct T's, or any combination of 3 direct and indirect t's.

Duffman:

You are missing the point. Under both NFHS and NCAA Rules, no one gets charged with a TF for what happened in the OP. And as far as your state and a HC receiving two Direct TFs or any combination of three Direct or Indirect TFs, that is a NFHS rule and not particular to your state.

What state are you in?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Duffman:

You are missing the point. Under both NFHS and NCAA Rules, no one gets charged with a TF for what happened in the OP. And as far as your state and a HC receiving two Direct TFs or any combination of three Direct or Indirect TFs, that is a NFHS rule and not particular to your state.

What state are you in?

MTD, Sr.
Confusion most of the time. I wasn't aware that was a uniform rule under the NFHS.

I understood the point, that in the OP no-one gets charged with a tech.

The OP also asked if there was a T in this case would it go toward the coach as his second. I was simply trying to say in the event it was a t it would count toward the coach, but it would be an indirect which wouldn't get him tossed as I saw no other point of asking the question. Unless you are aware of some sort of T that DOESN'T count toward a coach as either a direct or indirect.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 01:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
why would it count towards the coach? and whats the point to answering a hypothetical with an incorrect rule?

the answer is that IT WILL NEVER BE A T and therefore you dont have to worry about it being charged to the coach. If you DO assess a T then you are WRONG and you might as well assign it to the coach, the mascot and even the grandparents in row 5.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 01:41am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Duffman, there are several infractions where a technical is charged only to the team. The chart in the back of your rule book is a good breakdown of how the various fouls are assessed.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 02:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
why would it count towards the coach? And whats the point to answering a hypothetical with an incorrect rule?

The answer is that it will never be a t and therefore you dont have to worry about it being charged to the coach. If you do assess a t then you are wrong and you might as well assign it to the coach, the mascot and even the grandparents in row 5.
+2
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 02:04am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Confusion most of the time. I wasn't aware that was a uniform rule under the NFHS.

I understood the point, that in the OP no-one gets charged with a tech.

The OP also asked if there was a T in this case would it go toward the coach as his second. I was simply trying to say in the event it was a t it would count toward the coach, but it would be an indirect which wouldn't get him tossed as I saw no other point of asking the question. Unless you are aware of some sort of T that DOESN'T count toward a coach as either a direct or indirect.
I don't want to come across too harsh, but you should really spend some time in the rule book. If you're going to toss a coach, it would be a good idea to know why.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I don't want to come across too harsh, but you should really spend some time in the rule book. If you're going to toss a coach, it would be a good idea to know why.
+1.

Read more. Post less.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
All I was trying to say is that the previous poster had the correct answer, while also trying to answer what I believed to be the spirit of the question, which was "Is the HC responsible for bench personell".

Sorry if my answer confused or irritated anyone.

I'm also now aware that if the HC had been notified, and the player somehow remained in, or re-entered the game at a later point that is a direct T not indirect. Learning things is good, regardless of it whether or not it comes from reading the rule book or participating in on-line rules discussion.

Last edited by Duffman; Fri Feb 03, 2012 at 09:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 10:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
All I was trying to say is that the previous poster had the correct answer, while also trying to answer what I believed to be the spirit of the question, which was "Is the HC responsible for bench personell".

Sorry if my answer confused or irritated anyone.
...
It's not irritating b/c you were wrong, it's irritating b/c you posted it without any real rules basis?

There is a difference between being wrong b/c you are misinterpreting or being confused by a rule and being wrong b/c you are just guessing and don't really know the answer.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Learning things is good, regardless of it whether or not it comes from reading the rule book or participating in on-line rules discussion.
Cant say that I agree with this in its entirety. We should get our noses in the book to learn the basics at the very least. Backing up that knowledge by plugging into the Forum is supplemental... or at least it should be. JMO
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 05:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
Confusion most of the time. I wasn't aware that was a uniform rule under the NFHS.

I understood the point, that in the OP no-one gets charged with a tech.

The OP also asked if there was a T in this case would it go toward the coach as his second. I was simply trying to say in the event it was a t it would count toward the coach, but it would be an indirect which wouldn't get him tossed as I saw no other point of asking the question. Unless you are aware of some sort of T that DOESN'T count toward a coach as either a direct or indirect.
Duffman, I think I understand what you were asking. Correct me if I'm wrong but you want to know if the coach was notified and the disqualified player either stayed in or returned to the game, what happens?

In that case the head coach would receive a direct technical foul. Here's the case book ruling:

10.5.3 SITUATION:

A5 has just received his/her fifth foul of the game. A5 (a) is erroneously permitted to remain in the game for another two minutes before the scorer realizes the mistake; or (b) leaves the game after the coach is notified of the disqualification. At the intermission between the third and fourth quarter, A5 reports as a substitute and subsequently enters the game.

RULING: In (a), as soon as the error is discovered, the player is removed from the game, no penalties are assessed. In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed unless the official deemed it was a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules. If detected after the ball becomes live, it is a technical foul charged directly to the head coach resulting in the loss of coaching-box privileges. The player is immediately removed from the game and Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball. (2-11-5 Note 2)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2012, 09:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
This, and most states allow for direct and indirect T's for situations like this. In our state a coach walks after two direct T's, or any combination of 3 direct and indirect t's.
And if the coach had been notified and the DQ'd player then played (which is how I took the OP), who would get the T? (that's a rhetorical question)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical Fouls icallfouls Basketball 97 Thu Feb 16, 2012 02:11am
Technical Fouls Chris Whitten Basketball 14 Wed Nov 09, 2011 05:41pm
Technical fouls. etc.. bradwxyz Basketball 9 Sun May 14, 2006 11:41am
Personal Fouls/Technical fouls Coach T Basketball 6 Thu Jan 30, 2003 09:35am
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? Pirate Basketball 8 Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1