![]() |
|
|
|||
Technical Fouls???
Coach receives a technical foul early in the game. Later, a player commits his 5th foul and is permitted to continue play. Once the books notice the problem, player is deemed disqualified. A technical was assessed to the book. Question is, does the technical go towards the coach as his second? It was called as a technical on the book and the coach was not disqualified.
|
|
|||
No technical on anybody. If the coach was not notified, the player was not disqualified.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
This, and most states allow for direct and indirect T's for situations like this. In our state a coach walks after two direct T's, or any combination of 3 direct and indirect t's.
|
|
|||
Situations like what?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Duffman: You are missing the point. Under both NFHS and NCAA Rules, no one gets charged with a TF for what happened in the OP. And as far as your state and a HC receiving two Direct TFs or any combination of three Direct or Indirect TFs, that is a NFHS rule and not particular to your state. What state are you in? MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
I understood the point, that in the OP no-one gets charged with a tech. The OP also asked if there was a T in this case would it go toward the coach as his second. I was simply trying to say in the event it was a t it would count toward the coach, but it would be an indirect which wouldn't get him tossed as I saw no other point of asking the question. Unless you are aware of some sort of T that DOESN'T count toward a coach as either a direct or indirect. |
|
|||
why would it count towards the coach? and whats the point to answering a hypothetical with an incorrect rule?
the answer is that IT WILL NEVER BE A T and therefore you dont have to worry about it being charged to the coach. If you DO assess a T then you are WRONG and you might as well assign it to the coach, the mascot and even the grandparents in row 5.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
In that case the head coach would receive a direct technical foul. Here's the case book ruling: 10.5.3 SITUATION: A5 has just received his/her fifth foul of the game. A5 (a) is erroneously permitted to remain in the game for another two minutes before the scorer realizes the mistake; or (b) leaves the game after the coach is notified of the disqualification. At the intermission between the third and fourth quarter, A5 reports as a substitute and subsequently enters the game. RULING: In (a), as soon as the error is discovered, the player is removed from the game, no penalties are assessed. In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed unless the official deemed it was a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules. If detected after the ball becomes live, it is a technical foul charged directly to the head coach resulting in the loss of coaching-box privileges. The player is immediately removed from the game and Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball. (2-11-5 Note 2) |
|
|||
And if the coach had been notified and the DQ'd player then played (which is how I took the OP), who would get the T? (that's a rhetorical question)
|
|
|||
By "assessed to the book" I assume you mean it was an administrative foul. How exactly would you penalize this? Sort of like assessing the bus driver a technical because the bus was late due to traffic, I guess.
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
But everybody already knew that.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
A T to the bench is indirectly assessed to the coach, correct? A DQd player becomes bench personel when the coach is notified, correct? Quote:
Personally, there is no more comfortable feeling than knowing there is nothing that can happen on the court that I cant handle. Not that I know all the rules, but I aspire to... Question 4 you: Have you taken & passed the exam in your State?
__________________
I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Fri Feb 03, 2012 at 11:22am. |
|
|||
Quote:
10.5.3 SITUATION: A5 has just received his/her fifth foul of the game. A5 (a) is erroneously permitted to remain in the game for another two minutes before the scorer realizes the mistake; or (b) leaves the game after the coach is notified of the disqualification. At the intermission between the third and fourth quarter, A5 reports as a substitute and subsequently enters the game. RULING: In (a), as soon as the error is discovered, the player is removed from the game, no penalties are assessed. In (b), A5 will not actually "participate" until the ball becomes live. If detected prior to the ball becoming live, A5 would be directed to the bench and no penalty assessed unless the official deemed it was a deliberate attempt to circumvent the rules. If detected after the ball becomes live, it is a technical foul charged directly to the head coach resulting in the loss of coaching-box privileges. The player is immediately removed from the game and Team B is awarded two free throws and the ball. (2-11-5 Note 2) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Technical Fouls | icallfouls | Basketball | 97 | Thu Feb 16, 2012 02:11am |
Technical Fouls | Chris Whitten | Basketball | 14 | Wed Nov 09, 2011 05:41pm |
Technical fouls. etc.. | bradwxyz | Basketball | 9 | Sun May 14, 2006 11:41am |
Personal Fouls/Technical fouls | Coach T | Basketball | 6 | Thu Jan 30, 2003 09:35am |
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? | Pirate | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am |