The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
You are right, but the more I think about it, I think the Visitors may have thrown the ball in.
As others have already stated, it can be corrected until the throw-in has ended. The ball may have been thrown-in, but if it hasn't been legally touched yet, it can still be corrected.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Just a reminder: it's not a correctable error but it can be fixed until the throw-in ends. Here's the closest ruling to your situation from the case book:

7.6.6 SITUATION A:

Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The *administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal.

RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
As others have already stated, it can be corrected until the throw-in has ended. The ball may have been thrown-in, but if it hasn't been legally touched yet, it can still be corrected.
Thanks, even though you're echoing MTD's post above where he posts exactly the same thing. I already said I would have to look at the video and see if the throw-in ended. I'm fairly certain that it did.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 02:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
As others have already stated, it can be corrected until the throw-in has ended. The ball may have been thrown-in, but if it hasn't been legally touched yet, it can still be corrected.
Hmmm. Let's switch this up a bit.

A is incorrectly given an AP throw in that should have gone to B. Before the pass is released, a) B1 commits a plane violation, or b) A2 fouls B2, or c) A1 reaches the ball across the plane and B1 ties the ball up.

You then realize the error.

In which, if any, situation(s) can you correct the error?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:10pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
A is incorrectly given an AP throw in that should have gone to B. Before the pass is released, a) B1 commits a plane violation, or b) A2 fouls B2, or c) A1 reaches the ball across the plane and B1 ties the ball up.

You then realize the error.
In all three cases, the throw-in was never complete. So, I have...
a) DOG, ball goes back to B.
b) team control foul on A2, ball goes back to B
c) ball goes back to B (the held ball doesn't change the arrow, as the throw-in never completed)

Some of this seems a bit counter-intuitive, but that's what I have.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
c) ball goes back to B (the held ball doesn't change the arrow, as the throw-in never completed)

Some of this seems a bit counter-intuitive, but that's what I have.
What if B was entitled to the arrow with the held ball?
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:18pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
What if B was entitled to the arrow with the held ball?
B is entitled to arrow and he said B would get the throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
B is entitled to arrow and he said B would get the throw-in.
The scenario was that A had the ball for an AP arrow throw-in, and the ball not released yet ... did I have a brain fart?
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
The scenario was that A incorrectly had the ball for an AP arrow throw-in, and the ball not released yet ... did I have a brain fart?
Read my insert to your quote.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:22pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
B is entitled to arrow and he said B would get the throw-in.
Right, but I believe PG is asking whether B would keep the arrow. It's a foul on A, so B gets the ball, and it's not an APTI.

In a) and c), however, I have the arrow switching after a completed throw-in.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post

In a) and c), however, I have the arrow switching after a completed throw-in.
In a) , did the D.O.G. warning cause the throw-in to end? The throw-in team did not violate.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
In all three cases, the throw-in was never complete. So, I have...
a) DOG, ball goes back to B.
b) team control foul on A2, ball goes back to B
c) ball goes back to B (the held ball doesn't change the arrow, as the throw-in never completed)

Some of this seems a bit counter-intuitive, but that's what I have.
What did we decide was the cut off for that to be correctible? Was it at the end of the first throw in? Or was it prior to the ball being put in play. If it’s the former I’d argue that all three of those things ends the first throw in, and necessitates a second throw in (or potentially shots if B is in the bonus).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2012, 04:44pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
What did we decide was the cut off for that to be correctible? Was it at the end of the first throw in? Or was it prior to the ball being put in play. If it’s the former I’d argue that all three of those things ends the first throw in, and necessitates a second throw in (or potentially shots if B is in the bonus).
There is a rule for when a throw in ends. None of these situations qualify.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ha! It finally happened NCASAUmp Softball 6 Fri Oct 08, 2010 07:58am
Finally happened to me... bas2456 Basketball 16 Sat Sep 18, 2010 12:27am
Well, Well, it finally happened jkumpire Baseball 21 Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:27pm
It finally happened GarthB Baseball 5 Fri Jul 08, 2005 05:04pm
Well.......it finally happened..... Gulf Coast Blue Softball 5 Thu May 09, 2002 01:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1