The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2012, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3
Head and Shoulder (insert dandruff joke here)

Worked a game last week and a situation came up with my partner that was perplexing to me.

During a fast break B1 obtains LGP and stands like a statue while A1 drives to the basket. A1 realizes that B1 is in good position and makes an athletic move to twist away from any torso to torso contact and brushes B1's shoulder as he scores the lay up. Of course B1 goes down like he was shot and B1's coach is yelling for a PC foul...I think my partner does a great job with a no call and we play on.
During a break in the action B1 coach nicely asks why no PC call and my partner says that there was really no contact BUT if there was contact after A1 had gotten his head and shoulders past the defender a foul would have been called on the defender. I am a little surprised to hear this as B1 literally did not move but I figure we will just talk about it after the game...no big deal.
After the game I ask my partner what he meant and he said that if A1 had gotten his head and shoulders past a stationary defender (Who had LGP) and contact occurred with the hip/leg etc it would be a foul on B1 because A1 had gotten their head and shoulder past B1 and therefore B1 no longer had LGP.
To back up his point he says that we discontinue the 5 second count when a dribbler gets his head and shoulder past the defender and this is really the same situation.

Reading Rule 4 Section 7 Art 2 in the NFHS rule book. I see that it says that if there is torso to torso contact the onus is on the offense which is clear as can be. It also says that if the defender has gained LGP the offensive player must get his head and shoulders past the defenders torso.
I just don't see anything in the rules where it states a foul will be called on the defender in the situation noted above- nor in my opinion would it make sense for a foul to be called on a defender in that situation.

Just want to make sure I understand the rule correctly.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shoulder to shoulder contact bainsey Basketball 3 Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:53am
How to insert images fullor30 Basketball 7 Sat Mar 22, 2008 08:33am
Open Mouth Insert Foot tcblue13 Softball 3 Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:37pm
3-inch wide black insert JB Basketball 7 Tue Mar 15, 2005 07:29pm
Shirts with the wide black insert under the arm TBEEF Basketball 22 Fri Jan 14, 2005 09:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1