View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 31, 2012, 11:02am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
More confusion (from other threads, not from the OP): LGP protects moving defenders. It is irrelevant for a stationary defender, which seems to be the case here.

If the official was claiming that the dribbler having head and shoulders past a stationary defender removed the onus for contact, that's incorrect since that provision applies to a moving dribbler and moving defender. Contact with an arm or leg outside the defender's frame is always a foul on the defender, since such contact is never protected by LGP (or anything else).

Still, it sounds as if the call might have been correct: contact that puts the defender at no disadvantage is by rule not a foul, even if the defender decides to fall to the floor.

Around here, if a kid does that and it affects the shot, the expected call is a block.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote