The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
I just saw this

A1 has the ball for a throw-in. Team B is applying real good full court pressure. A2 starts running parallel and real close to the endline. A1 extends the ball past the vertical plane of the boundary line and pushes the ball against A2 and quickly pulls the ball back. It looked like A1 wanted to hand the ball to A2, but A2 did not want to grab the ball. It was like a fake hand off with the ball coming in contact with A2's belly. Violation?
What would it be if A2 is replaced with B1?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
A1 has the ball for a throw-in. Team B is applying real good full court pressure. A2 starts running parallel and real close to the endline. A1 extends the ball past the vertical plane of the boundary line and pushes the ball against A2 and quickly pulls the ball back. It looked like A1 wanted to hand the ball to A2, but A2 did not want to grab the ball. It was like a fake hand off with the ball coming in contact with A2's belly. Violation?
What would it be if A2 is replaced with B1?
Without my book

pretty sure violation in the first case.

pretty positive nothing in the second case. B1 can even grab the ball if it's on the inbounds side of the boundary plane.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 07:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
It's a violation to hand the ball to A2. IT's not a violation to fake a handoff.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 05:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Nothing in either case.
There is no rule prohibiting a teammate from touching the ball while it remains in the thrower's hands.
As Bob says the thrower just can't hand it to an inbounds teammate.
Remember "always listen to Bob."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Why is this not the same as A1 stepping inbounds or touching an opponent inbounds?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 12:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Why is this not the same as A1 stepping inbounds or touching an opponent inbounds?
Because he's not stepping inbounds or touching an opponent.

Where's the rule that says it's a violation on the thrower to touch an opponent inbounds?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1