The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Upgrading

Situation: BV game, we're at A's basket, and A is up by 25 with maybe 4 minutes to play. The boys are getting a little chippy, but we've been calling fouls consistently for displacement, bumping that creates disadvantage, etc. The game is by no means out of control.

I'm C, with the ball on the other side, and right in front of me A1 goes past B1 and elbows him in the nose. I see the whole play, and I've got the foul before B1 hits the floor (he ended up with a bloody nose, but I didn't see that till later). I report the foul on A1, and it's his 5th, so he's done.

As I report the foul, B coach says, "Pretty hard foul." I agree. As I look back on this, I probably should have upgraded it. I hardly ever see this kind of thing in my games, so I didn't consider upgrading at the time.

Thoughts? If you had been my partner and had seen the bloody nose (even if you hadn't seen the foul) would you have asked me about upgrading?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Situation: BV game, we're at A's basket, and A is up by 25 with maybe 4 minutes to play. The boys are getting a little chippy, but we've been calling fouls consistently for displacement, bumping that creates disadvantage, etc. The game is by no means out of control.

I'm C, with the ball on the other side, and right in front of me A1 goes past B1 and elbows him in the nose. I see the whole play, and I've got the foul before B1 hits the floor (he ended up with a bloody nose, but I didn't see that till later). I report the foul on A1, and it's his 5th, so he's done.

As I report the foul, B coach says, "Pretty hard foul." I agree. As I look back on this, I probably should have upgraded it. I hardly ever see this kind of thing in my games, so I didn't consider upgrading at the time.

Thoughts? If you had been my partner and had seen the bloody nose (even if you hadn't seen the foul) would you have asked me about upgrading?
Was it deliberate or was the elbow accidental?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Was it deliberate or was the elbow accidental?
The kids were the same height. Could an elbow to the nose by a player without the ball cutting across the lane have been accidental?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The kids were the same height. Could an elbow to the nose by a player without the ball cutting across the lane have been accidental?
Yes. Player holding their arms like the coach wants for whatever reason they think it's needed turns at the wrong time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Had a player go up for the dunk, got rejected & landed on the side of his head (no foul just the downward force from the blocked shot) when he got up there was blood everywhere.

So to answer your question, no, I would never consider offering information for an upgrade based on a bleeding player.

Like I always tell em, if you dont want any contact go play ping-pong!!

If I saw the whole play as you did, an off ball elbow to the face could definitely become an INT instead of a team control foul.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 12:39pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
4 minute double minor for drawing blood.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Had a player go up for the dunk, got rejected & landed on the side of his head (no foul just the downward force from the blocked shot) when he got up there was blood everywhere.

So to answer your question, no, I would never consider offering information for an upgrade based on a bleeding player.
Apples and oranges. The OP appears to be a deliberate act - not a basketball play.

I would have conferred with partners and considered upgrading to at least intentional. But it's easy to second guess from here. At least you got the foul imagine if you were looking at a different matchup and you didn't see it at all.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Apples and oranges. The OP appears to be a deliberate act - not a basketball play.

I would have conferred with partners and considered upgrading to at least intentional. But it's easy to second guess from here. At least you got the foul imagine if you were looking at a different matchup and you didn't see it at all.
If my partners had no look or no whistle on the play, I dont need them to confirm that the player is bleeding.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
If my partners had no look or no whistle on the play, I dont need them to confirm that the player is bleeding.
Not sure where you're going with this, but the conference would not be to confirm the player is bleeding. It would be to confer on what happened and whether they saw it or had any input. I may not confer at all and on my way to the table decide it was an intentional. Regardless, I think it would be fine based on the OP to upgrade the call after the initial call.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Not sure where you're going with this, but the conference would not be to confirm the player is bleeding. It would be to confer on what happened and whether they saw it or had any input. I may not confer at all and on my way to the table decide it was an intentional. Regardless, I think it would be fine based on the OP to upgrade the call after the initial call.
Ummm again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
If my partners had no look or no whistle on the play, I dont need them to confirm that the player is bleeding.
I agree with the rest of what you say! I'm simply saying that blood in & of itself isnt a deciding factor on whether to upgrade or not. Thats all.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!

Last edited by tref; Thu Jan 26, 2012 at 02:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 27, 2012, 08:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
If my partners had no look or no whistle on the play, I dont need them to confirm that the player is bleeding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Not sure where you're going with this, but the conference would not be to confirm the player is bleeding. ...
I think he responding to this portion of the OP:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
...Thoughts? If you had been my partner and had seen the bloody nose (even if you hadn't seen the foul) would you have asked me about upgrading?
I'm not not coming to my partner to discuss upgrading just because I see blood. I would only come if I too had seen the act in question.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
If my partners had no look or no whistle on the play, I dont need them to confirm that the player is bleeding.
Why are we discussing blood for changing a foul to intentional or flagrant?
Any elbow you should be thinking maybe intentional. If you find it as an accident keep it as common, if it is intentional or extreme contact then rule it as intentional or flagrant. If there is blood then there is blood. We don't call a foul based on biofluids. (includes tears for girls officials).
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2012, 01:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
Usually your first reaction is the correct one. Don't beat yourself up over how you replay in your mind. You likely made the right call.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Apples and oranges. The OP appears to be a deliberate act - not a basketball play.
I don't necessarily see it that way at all. It may have been but the OP gives no indication of how the elbow happened, just that it did.

I once, while playing, gave a guy a gash on his brow that needed stitches and I didn't even know I touched him. He was a friend and I'd never do such a thing on purpose to anyone, much less a friend. My elbow, in a normal basketball move, clipped his brow just right and popped it open. I did have the ball and was wondering, as I drove the the basket, how I had beat him so badly when he was no longer with me.

Elbows meet faces all the time in normal plays. Elbows are moving parts of the body that simply move a lot when players are running around. It may or may not have been deliberate...I think you' have to be there to make that judgement (or trust the OP if he had said it was...and he didn't).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 26, 2012, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I don't necessarily see it that way at all. It may have been but the OP gives no indication of how the elbow happened, just that it did.
.
.
.
(or trust the OP if he had said it was...and he didn't).
I based it on the OP saying this a few posts in, which led me to believe he thought it was intentionel:

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
The kids were the same height. Could an elbow to the nose by a player without the ball cutting across the lane have been accidental?
But reading that a few times I am not sure if he was sure or not. Anyway, I was saying apples/oranges on the assumption that it was intentional. And you know what happens when I assume...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1