![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Here's a hypothetical. A1 beats B1 off the dribble and drives to the bucket. A secondary defender B2 steps into the path of A1 and stops without facing A1 (he could be perpendicular or in a box out reboudning position). A1 shots the ball and as an air born shooter lands on B2 (who was stationary prior to the beggining of the attempt). Am I correct to rule this a blocking fould because B2 never established a LGP by facing the opponent? |
|
|||
Quote:
The defender is laying on the floor, the offense rebounds their own shot in a crowd of people, jumps, shoots, and then lands on the prone defender...are you telling me that this is now consideration for a charge? Coach: How can that be? Ref: He took it in the chest, coach Coach: He was laying on the ground! Ref: He got there first, estbalished LGP. Coach: LGP huh? Ok guys, everyone lay on the floor near the basket and let them try to shoot lay ups Come on now |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
LGP is not required for a stationary player to draw a charge. Yes, if a shooter lands on a stationary defender's chest, when he's lying on the floor relatively still, I'm calling a charge. Not that difficult, and if the coach wants to be an arse about it (they always do on offensive fouls), we can shoot free throws because I have no problem writing reports at night.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Agreed, but I work a lot of 1A and 2A girls ball, and even at the varsity level it seems there are one or two girls on the floor at all times for various reasons. I encounter contact with a player on the floor serval times a season so it does come up. I'm curious on your view changes is a situation in which...
A1 is an airborn shooter and comes into contact with, and is put at a disadvantage by, B1 who is getting up off the floor after ending up there for God knows what reason. We don't have a legal guarding position, and the player isn't stationary despite remaining in the general space on the floor they occupy. Would you then have a block? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In my view if a B1 flops to try and draw a call and while on the floor causes a disadvantage to A(1-5) then I'm likely to call B1 for a foul as the floor isn't a LGP and it's his own damn fault he's on the floor. |
|
||||
My biggest issue here is the continued reference to LGP for a stationary player. LGP isn't required for 4-23-1 "Every player is entitled to a spot on the floor provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Agreed
|
|
||||
Quote:
If you think the player tried to fake a foul, warn or call the T. Otherwise, he got to the floor legally.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
That can't be a charge ... | Hartsy | Basketball | 5 | Tue Jan 10, 2012 05:56pm |
Charge, After Charge, After Charge | NCHSAA | Basketball | 41 | Sun Dec 18, 2011 01:22pm |
charge | clips2 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:18am |
Charge | fonzzy07 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 01:01am |
Should I take charge? | Jay R | Basketball | 5 | Sun Mar 17, 2002 07:02pm |