The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Mar 17, 2002, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member

This weekend I got to do four games in a tournament. I am a rookie so I tend to let the vets take charge of pregame matters. My partner today never mentionned anything of substance before the game (no pre-game). Should have I brought up double whistles etc? Also we never had a captains meeting. I felt strange about this. Again, should a rookie have enough confidence to say "OK let's get the captains"? Any thoughts?
Old Sun Mar 17, 2002, 03:12pm
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
This weekend I got to do four games in a tournament. I am a rookie so I tend to let the vets take charge of pregame matters. My partner today never mentionned anything of substance before the game (no pre-game). Should have I brought up double whistles etc? Also we never had a captains meeting. I felt strange about this. Again, should a rookie have enough confidence to say "OK let's get the captains"? Any thoughts?
Jay R,
Take a low-key approach.
For example, pose it as a question, "Should we get the captains?", "How should we handle double whistles?"
Ease into it until it bugs you too much to ignore.
It's tough, but sometimes we have to deal with the "Ho Hum" approach.
I'll tell you one thing though, the higher we work, the more important those sorts of things become.
Good luck.
mick
Old Sun Mar 17, 2002, 03:28pm
Do not give a damn!!

Lightbulb Take the lead.

Quote:
Originally posted by Jay R
Always be willing to take charge. It will benefit you in the long run. You need to know what they are going to do, or what their philosophy is before the game. You have the right to know so that you will not make mistakes yourself or that you will not have much discussion on the floor.