The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 11:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 45
3 seconds

A1 goes into the lane and looses the ball, it gets batted back and forth among players in the lane with no one getting control of the ball, A1 is still in the lane, could this be a 3 second violation if it takes that long for someone to get control? If so, then anytime there is a loose ball in the lane, the offense could get punished if they go after it and it takes longer than 3 seconds for anyone to get control. Any help would be appreciated on this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,015
As long as the team still has control its a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 45
reply

Is there team control during a loose ball?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 12:16pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,988
There could be. What does the rulebook say about when team control ends? That will answer your question.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 12:30pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Requirements for a three second violation:

1. Team control (and player control established at some point if coming from a throw-in)
2. Ball in the frontcourt

Remember that team control, once established, continues until the ball becomes dead, there's a try for goal, or the team not in control of the ball gains possession of the ball.

So yes, in theory, you could have a 3 second call while the ball is loose and not in player control.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 01:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,163
Gets 'Em Every Time ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
So yes, in theory, you could have a 3 second call while the ball is loose and not in player control.
It's the old interrupted dribble trick.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2012, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oklahoma official View Post
A1 goes into the lane and looses the ball, it gets batted back and forth among players in the lane with no one getting control of the ball, A1 is still in the lane, could this be a 3 second violation if it takes that long for someone to get control?
By rule, yes, it's a 3 second violation.

Quote:
If so, then anytime there is a loose ball in the lane, the offense could get punished if they go after it and it takes longer than 3 seconds for anyone to get control. Any help would be appreciated on this.
It's not punishment. It's a penalty and it's a rule.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Couldn't this be an interrupted dribble in which the 3 second count is suspended. (Or am I mistaken)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Couldn't this be an interrupted dribble in which the 3 second count is suspended. (Or am I mistaken)
You are mistaken ...
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 12:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Couldn't this be an interrupted dribble in which the 3 second count is suspended. (Or am I mistaken)
It could be an interrupted dribble, but that does not suspend the 3 second count.

In fact, I don't believe any count gets "suspended" during an interrupted dribble.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It could be an interrupted dribble, but that does not suspend the 3 second count.

In fact, I don't believe any count gets "suspended" during an interrupted dribble.
A closely-guarded count is terminated.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 12:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A closely-guarded count is terminated.
Yep, but not suspended.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,044
This thread is why Rule 4 on definitions are so important.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2012, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A closely-guarded count is terminated.
Thanks to all for the correction. Thanks Bob, that is where I made my mistake.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Seconds on FT slow whistle Basketball 6 Sun Jan 31, 2010 02:26pm
3 seconds....THREE SECONDS!!! Rich Basketball 44 Fri Jan 01, 2010 03:09pm
10 seconds budjones05 Basketball 67 Thu Jan 04, 2007 02:38pm
.3 seconds smoref Basketball 29 Fri Jan 20, 2006 03:34pm
Is it 3 seconds? dsturdy5 Basketball 3 Mon Mar 03, 2003 02:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1