![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Officials provide erroneous information
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Mistake... | showbo | Basketball | 17 | Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:11pm |
| Would you fix this mistake? | WestMichBlue | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 07, 2008 10:37am |
| Big Mistake | PIAA REF | Basketball | 27 | Fri Feb 16, 2007 04:55pm |
| Another ASA mistake? | greymule | Softball | 6 | Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm |
| 1-and-1 Mistake | firedoc | Basketball | 2 | Mon Feb 11, 2002 10:11pm |