The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2012, 12:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Flagrant 1 (old Intentional Foul) is 2 hands crossed above the head. As I and another member has posted you cannot downgrade a foul once going to the monitor. So if it was already signaled as a Flagrant 1 then the only other option would have been a Flagrant 2. You cannot downgrade to a personal foul or no-call.
I'm almost positive that signal was not made. I wish I had kept the DVR recording of the game. I PM'ed APG to see if he could snag the clip to give us more info.

Quote:
What were you trying to get at with the way you worded your post? I'm inferring you are criticizing Karl Hess' decision even though you have admitted you don't know the rule.
I wasn't trying to "get" at anything. My words mean exactly what they say. According to official accounts of what happened on the play, the official(s) were informed by the player that no contact was made. That, combined with the replay, still resulted in a call of flagrant 1. I'm curious as to why.

I'm not criticizing Karl Hess' decision. I'm questioning it, based on what I've read in the rule book and what I've read about the play in question. I'm seeking additional insight from other forum members about the play and the rule(s) in question.

Can you help me out by citing what rule says you can't downgrade a foul even after going to the monitor? I couldn't find it in the NCAA rule book. The word "downgrade" doesn't even appear in the book.

Last edited by fiasco; Tue Jan 17, 2012 at 12:50am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2012, 01:00am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
A.R. 39.

An official reports a flagrant 1 personal foul on A1 because of illegal elbow contact above the shoulders of B1. The coach from Team B asks the officials to review the foul using the monitor to determine if the foul was a flagrant 2 personal foul. The official reviews the monitor to see if a flagrant 2 personal foul occurred on the play and upon review sees that the illegal contact was actually made below the shoulders. Is the official permitted to change the reported flagrant 1 personal foul to a common foul? Is Team B charged with a timeout because a flagrant 2 personal foul did not occur?

RULING: While the officials are permitted to review the monitor to see if a flagrant 2 personal foul or (Women) a flagrant 1 personal foul for illegal elbow contact above the shoulders of an opponent occurred, Rule 2-13-2.d.1 states that when it is determined that a flagrant 2 personal foul did not occur but a flagrant 1 personal or a contact dead ball technical foul did occur, those fouls can be penalized, but no other infractions may be penalized. When the official reports a flagrant 1 personal foul, that foul can be reviewed until the ball becomes live, but when it is discovered that neither a flagrant 1 nor flagrant 2 foul occurred, the reported foul cannot be downgraded to a common foul. Since the coach requested a review for a possible flagrant 2 personal foul and no such foul occurred, Team B is charged a timeout.

(RULING: 2-13.2.d.1)

A.R. 43.

The official reports a flagrant 2 foul on A1. After reporting the foul, the officials decide to use the monitor to determine if another flagrant 2 personal or flagrant 2 contact technical foul occurred. The officials do not see another flagrant 2 foul, but would like to downgrade the foul against A1 to a flagrant 1 personal foul. Are the officials permitted to downgrade a foul that has been reported?

RULING: Yes. This foul can be downgraded to only a flagrant 1 personal foul or a contact dead ball technical. When the officials reported the foul as a flagrant 2 foul on A1, that foul can be reviewed until the ball becomes live. When officials are not sure if a flagrant 2 personal or flagrant 2 contact technical foul occurred, they are permitted to use the monitor to make this determination.

(Rule 2-13-2.d.1)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flagrant foul/flagrant technical splitveer Basketball 6 Tue Feb 16, 2010 01:05pm
Question: FSU vs Clemson DTQ_Blue Baseball 5 Mon May 05, 2008 10:27am
Duke vs. Clemson IREFU2 Basketball 13 Fri Feb 23, 2007 02:52pm
Duke/Clemson timing error Toadman15241 Basketball 100 Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:31am
Virginia vs. Clemson IREFU2 Basketball 15 Sun Jan 28, 2007 06:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1