The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2012, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 105
intentional foul

NFHS Rules. Can an intentional foul be a dead ball foul. A1 is dribbling the ball in front court. She picks up the ball and stumbles. I call a walk and a split second after I call the walk see bumps into B1 and B1 pushes her with both hands intentionally. The contact was not flagrant but was enough that I needed to call a foul on B1.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2012, 11:45pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,538
That would be a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2012, 11:46pm
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Dead ball contact, to be called, must be flagrant or intentional...and dead ball contact by rule can only be a technical foul. So in this case, you would have an intentional technical foul.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by allpurposegamer View Post
dead ball contact, to be called, must be flagrant or intentional...and dead ball contact by rule can only be a technical foul. So in this case, you would have an intentional technical foul.
+1
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Rules. Can an intentional foul be a dead ball foul. A1 is dribbling the ball in front court. She picks up the ball and stumbles. I call a walk and a split second after I call the walk see bumps into B1 and B1 pushes her with both hands intentionally. The contact was not flagrant but was enough that I needed to call a foul on B1.
Personal fouls and technical fouls both come in intentional and flagrant flavors. An "intentional foul" is usually an intentional personal foul; but the case you're describing would be an intentional technical foul.

Similarly, flagrant contact during a live ball is a flagrant personal foul; flagrant contact during a dead ball is a flagrant technical foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbret View Post
NFHS Rules. Can an intentional foul be a dead ball foul. A1 is dribbling the ball in front court. She picks up the ball and stumbles. I call a walk and a split second after I call the walk see bumps into B1 and B1 pushes her with both hands intentionally. The contact was not flagrant but was enough that I needed to call a foul on B1.
So A1 can bump B1 but B1 cant shove A1 back? I'm going double here, as the bump caused the shoved.
Had B1 retaliated by punching A1 wouldnt we run them both?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 10:10am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
and dead ball contact by rule can only be a technical foul.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm. . .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 10:12am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
So A1 can bump B1 but B1 cant shove A1 back? I'm going double here, as the bump caused the shoved.
Had B1 retaliated by punching A1 wouldnt we run them both?
The poor kid stumbles and bumps into an opponent. We didn't see the play, but that hardly sounds like inciting B1 to retaliate. Sounds like the kid was clumsy, and fell into a girl who over-reacted.

(Jokes about over-reacting girls intentionally omitted!)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
The poor kid stumbles and bumps into an opponent. We didn't see the play, but that hardly sounds like inciting B1 to retaliate. Sounds like the kid was clumsy, and fell into a girl who over-reacted.

(Jokes about over-reacting girls intentionally omitted!)
Hmmmmm never saw the stumbles part in the OP, the way it was written I was led to believe the bump was intentional. But like most cases probably HTBT.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapper1 View Post
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm. . .
+1
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer
and dead ball contact by rule can only be a technical foul.
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm. . .
APG is correct: dead ball contact can be only a technical foul. What he said does not imply that all dead ball contact is a foul, merely that, if a foul, it's a technical foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
APG is correct: dead ball contact can be only a technical foul. What he said does not imply that all dead ball contact is a foul, merely that, if a foul, it's a technical foul.
What about a foul on or by an airborne shooter after the ball goes through the hoop?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 12:14pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,352
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
APG is correct: dead ball contact can be only a technical foul. What he said does not imply that all dead ball contact is a foul, merely that, if a foul, it's a technical foul.
Swing and a miss. Strike two.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What about a foul on or by an airborne shooter after the ball goes through the hoop?
Dang! I keep forgetting that one, possibly because nobody in any of my games can stay in the air that long.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 10, 2012, 02:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Hmmmmm never saw the stumbles part in the OP, the way it was written I was led to believe the bump was intentional. But like most cases probably HTBT.
It's there. Bump doesn't signify intent to me, not like "push" would.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional Foul? dkmz17 Basketball 41 Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:28am
Intentional foul mdray Basketball 11 Wed Jun 18, 2008 02:18pm
Intentional Foul Schmack42 Basketball 13 Sat Jan 22, 2005 04:51pm
intentional foul? lrpalmer3 Basketball 15 Wed Dec 22, 2004 04:09pm
Intentional Foul Woodee Basketball 12 Thu Feb 20, 2003 01:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1