The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to tjchamp
Was this a kick

Defender B1 reaches low, and sticks his foot out to block a pass. The ball deflects off his hand, then hits his extended foot/ankle.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 04:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Yes. If he deliberately stuck out the foot/leg, what it hit first is irrelevant.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 04:55pm
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,379
4-29 Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with any part of the foot or leg.

Sticking a foot out to block a pass sounds pretty intentional to me.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 05:49pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
I had a play similar to this last night. I saw the touch with the hand, but couldn't tell for sure whether or not he touched it with his leg.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 05:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
I had a coach yell for a kick last night when the other team was trying to run clock and a pass deflected off of one of their players' foot. He was running and the pass hit him on the foot and deflected to a teammate. It was not intentional. The coach said something like "His foot was moving forward, that's a kick!".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 06:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjchamp View Post
Defender B1 reaches low, and sticks his foot out to block a pass. The ball deflects off his hand, then hits his extended foot/ankle.
Nothing....he hit it with his hand....he missed it with the foot. The hand knocked it into the foot. So, while he tried to use his foot to stop the ball, that isn't what actually happened.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 06:57pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nothing....he hit it with his hand....he missed it with the foot. The hand knocked it into the foot. So, while he tried to use his foot to stop the ball, that isn't what actually happened.
I think I'm leaning toward a kicking violation here. Spirit of the rule kind of thing. I see it not too differently from this possible, similar scenario:

A1's low pass is deflected by B1's hand, and strikes B2's foot, which was returning to the ground after he/she initially raised it up to deflect the pass with it.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 10:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
I think I'm leaning toward a kicking violation here. Spirit of the rule kind of thing. I see it not too differently from this possible, similar scenario:

A1's low pass is deflected by B1's hand, and strikes B2's foot, which was returning to the ground after he/she initially raised it up to deflect the pass with it.


Listen to Camron because he got it correct.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2012, 10:49pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjchamp View Post
Defender B1 reaches low, and sticks his foot out to block a pass. The ball deflects off his hand, then hits his extended foot/ankle.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nothing....he hit it with his hand....he missed it with the foot. The hand knocked it into the foot. So, while he tried to use his foot to stop the ball, that isn't what actually happened.
He stuck out his foot to block a pass, and it happened. The fact that the path of the ball was changed (how much? 2 degrees or 90 degrees?) does not change the bottom line.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 12:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
He stuck out his foot to block a pass, and it happened. The fact that the path of the ball was changed (how much? 2 degrees or 90 degrees?) does not change the bottom line.
Sure it does. He blocked the pass with his hand....legal. If the foot was in the original path of the ball, and the ball still hit it after a minor deflection, I could agree with still calling a kick as the foot was put in the path of the ball and became relevant.

If they miss the ball with the foot then knock it down with the hand (e.g., 90 degrees) such that the foot was never in/near the actual path of the ball until the hand put it there, the foot had nothing to do with blocking the pass.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 12:36am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nothing....he hit it with his hand....he missed it with the foot. The hand knocked it into the foot. So, while he tried to use his foot to stop the ball, that isn't what actually happened.
I am with you on this one. Sounds like the ball hit the leg by accident.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael ďMickĒ Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 175
I can't believe that people want to call this a kick ball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 02:00am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Sure it does. He blocked the pass with his hand....legal. If the foot was in the original path of the ball, and the ball still hit it after a minor deflection, I could agree with still calling a kick as the foot was put in the path of the ball and became relevant.

If they miss the ball with the foot then knock it down with the hand (e.g., 90 degrees) such that the foot was never in/near the actual path of the ball until the hand put it there, the foot had nothing to do with blocking the pass.
How do we know from the OP which of these happened?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 02:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
How do we know from the OP which of these happened?
The way it is worded lends itself to being the former...that the contact with the hand changed the direction of the ball....and I have a hard time envisioning a player putting their foot out to kick a ball and putting their hand out in front of it. It just seems like an extremely unlikely position.

And if you can't tell from the OP, how can you have a violation? If it is uncertain, you don't make the call.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2012, 02:48am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The way it is worded lends itself to being the former...that the contact with the hand changed the direction of the ball....and I have a hard time envisioning a player putting their foot out to kick a ball and putting their hand out in front of it. It just seems like an extremely unlikely position.

And if you can't tell from the OP, how can you have a violation? If it is uncertain, you don't make the call.
I really can't imagine the player reaching for the ball with both hand and foot, and hitting it with both. I'll just say it could still be a violation, but not enough info here to say.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
onsides kick on the free kick BuggBob Football 7 Tue Dec 06, 2011 05:29pm
Drop kick on Free kick, on 40 or behind it? airraider Football 6 Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:43am
Another Kick question (free kick) referee20 Football 15 Wed Sep 16, 2009 08:14pm
Kick This! JMN Football 2 Fri Jan 10, 2003 01:57pm
fan tell me i am going to kick your ass! joselirizarry Basketball 7 Wed Jan 31, 2001 08:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1