The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 05, 2003, 02:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 7
Question

This might be the perfect forum for a rule clarification I am seeking.

I am playing just a 1on1 asphalt type pickup game of basketball, but I would like to practice the rule properly in compliance with well known standards.

The question is regarding to defending the low post. Player O has the ball inside the key, his back to the defender Player D and the basket. O is dribbling while inching closer to the basket. D puts his forearm on O's back.

Now, the question is- the next time O inches forward, is player D allowed to apply equal pressure so that he can maintain his defensive position? Or must D allow player O to move to that extra inch.

The NBA rules say 1 forearm and /or arm with bent elbow is allowed to touch defender when inside the lower defensive block in order to maintain defensive position, as long as it does not impair speed and balance of the player with the ball... am I interpretting correctly?

Thanks in advance!
-David Jentz
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1