The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   tapped into wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84475-tapped-into-wrong-basket.html)

Raymond Sun Dec 18, 2011 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 805813)
Be late. Be needed. Be right. I met all 3 criteria.

You were late and right, but not needed. Took care of that part already. ;)

BktBallRef Sun Dec 18, 2011 09:27am

The horn doesn't have a status. That makes no sense whatsoever.

The ball is batted by B and goes into through the basket. The horn sounds. Count the 2 points.

This ain't that difficult folks.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:18am

In Other Words ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 805834)
This ain't that difficult folks.

This ain't rocket surgery.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 18, 2011 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 805786)
A tap is a try even with less than 0.3 on the clock.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 805812)
But not at the opponent's basket.

It is not a tap if it is at the opponents basket....a tap is essentially defined the same way as a try.
4-41-5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
So, really, we've talking about a "tip" all along.

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 18, 2011 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 805827)
You were late and right, but not needed. Took care of that part already. ;)

You called him on the to, two , or too problem?

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 18, 2011 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 805885)
It is not a tap if it is at the opponents basket....a tap is essentially defined the same way as a try.
4-41-5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
So, really, we've talking about a "tip" all along.

The OP called it a tap. By definition, it cannot be a tap. What it is is a bonehead play.

DenverRef Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:06am

So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

just another ref Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805993)
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

correct

HawkeyeCubP Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:48am

+1
 
What JAR said.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 19, 2011 02:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 805995)
correct

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 805997)
What JAR said.

Correct...because the ONLY way B can touch the ball is if the try had ended. If they were to touch it before the try were over, it would have been GT or BI (I'm reading the question to say the ball was on its way down).

Raymond Mon Dec 19, 2011 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805993)
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

Correct. And an NCAA crew actually got this play wrong a few years ago in a game at Virginia Tech which caused a lot of memos to be sent out.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 19, 2011 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805993)
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

If it's still a try, then the period doesn't end until the try ends, so the basket will count.

The official must judge if it's still a try (and if the official is having trouble with the OP and this latest play, it's likely s/he'll have trouble with "when a try ends.")


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1