The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   tapped into wrong basket (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84475-tapped-into-wrong-basket.html)

DenverRef Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:31pm

tapped into wrong basket
 
Can you guys help - I keep looking for this and cant find it in the rule book.

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds B1 taps the ball into A's basket.

Does the basket count?

APG Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:32pm

No.

Toren Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:33pm

Did the ball enter the basket before the horn?

DenverRef Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:40pm

Yes the ball goes through before the horn sounds-

Where in the IAABO rulebook does it cover this?

Toren Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805352)
Yes the ball goes through before the horn sounds-

Where in the IAABO rulebook does it cover this?

Of course I don't have my rulebook on me, but I will run out at lunch and grab it from my car.

But to answer your question, yes the points are awarded.

Adam Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805352)
Yes the ball goes through before the horn sounds-

Where in the IAABO rulebook does it cover this?

5-1-1 and 5-2-1.
Any live ball that enters the basket (except a throw-in) scores at least two points. Why would this not count?

rockyroad Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 805348)
No.

What?

Why not?

JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:53pm

If the "tap" was when the try had not ended, then I see nothing wrong with counting the basket as long as the try was still in flight. B touching the ball itself does not necessarily end the try.

Peace

Adam Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 805362)
If the "tap" was when the try had not ended, then I see nothing wrong with counting the basket as long as the try was still in flight. B touching the ball itself does not necessarily end the try.

Peace

Doesn't matter.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805352)
Yes the ball goes through before the horn sounds-
Where in the IAABO rulebook does it cover this?


JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 805363)
Doesn't matter.

It could if the try had ended and B touching the ball was not associated with the try. No different than the ball hitting the floor and the ball bouncing up in the air and going in the hole after the horn has gone off.

Peace

Toren Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 805365)
It could if the try had ended and B touching the ball was not associated with the try. No different than the ball hitting the floor and the ball bouncing up in the air and going in the hole after the horn has gone off.

Peace

It is different because the basketball entered the basket before the horn went off.

So the tap by B1 was not a try attempt, but it doesn't matter, because the ball entered the basket, then the horn sounds. So yes, the points are awarded.

Toren Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 805357)
5-1-1 and 5-2-1.
Any live ball that enters the basket (except a throw-in) scores at least two points. Why would this not count?

Saved me a trip to my car at lunch :D

JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 805366)
It is different because the basketball entered the basket before the horn went off.

So the tap by B1 was not a try attempt, but it doesn't matter, because the ball entered the basket, then the horn sounds. So yes, the points are awarded.

I understand all of that and why it still matters if we have a try or not at it relates to the horn. People were answering the question without knowing the status of the horn.

Peace

Scrapper1 Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 805366)
It is different because the basketball entered the basket before the horn went off.

Yes. If the horn sounds before the ball enters the basket, then the ball becomes dead, since there is no longer a try involved. But if it enters the basket before the horn (or before an official's whistle creates a dead ball), then the goal counts. That would be the same as if a player got confused and shot the ball into the wrong basket. A live ball entering the basket scores as a goal.

Quote:

So the tap by B1 was not a try attempt, but it doesn't matter, because the ball entered the basket, then the horn sounds. So yes, the points are awarded.
Correct.

Gotta know those scoring rules (Rule 5) and the live ball/dead ball rules (Rule 6).

fullor30 Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 805348)
No.

huh??

Toren Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:21pm

Conclusion?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805346)
Can you guys help - I keep looking for this and cant find it in the rule book.

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds B1 taps the ball into A's basket.

Does the basket count?


Did you guys get it right?

JugglingReferee Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805346)
Can you guys help - I keep looking for this and cant find it in the rule book.

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds B1 taps the ball into A's basket.

Does the basket count?

Does anyone see a possibility of goaltending?

PG_Ref Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 805375)
Does anyone see a possibility of goaltending?

Goaltending involves a try or tap ... at a team's own basket.

JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 805375)
Does anyone see a possibility of goaltending?

In college maybe. But hitting the backboard does not mean much of anything in NF Rules. And even in college the ball must be completely above the rim to be a consideration of being a goal tending violation.

Peace

Adam Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 805371)
I understand all of that and why it still matters if we have a try or not at it relates to the horn. People were answering the question without knowing the status of the horn.

Peace

Yep, but the question (whether the ball had gone through before or after the horn in the OP) had been answered already, so it didn't matter. I wouldn't want someone thinking there's a reason not to count the score here just because the try may have been over.

fullor30 Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 805375)
Does anyone see a possibility of goaltending?

It seems everybody over thinks sitches, forget buzzer part of question as tap happened before buzzer. I wouldn't think of goaltending as the requirements for goaltending were not mentioned in OP, or you're just adding food for thought?

JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 805383)
Yep, but the question (whether the ball had gone through before or after the horn in the OP) had been answered already, so it didn't matter. I wouldn't want someone thinking there's a reason not to count the score here just because the try may have been over.

OK Snaqs, whatever you say.

Peace

DenverRef Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:41pm

If you look at Case 6.7.6 Situation B, I guess it doesn't matter as long as the tap was before the horn.

mbyron Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805387)
If you look at Case 6.7.6 Situation B, I guess it doesn't matter as long as the tap was before the horn.

It does matter, if the tap was by B. In that case, the ball has to be in the basket before the horn to count.

I'd give good odds that APG misread the OP when he said it wouldn't count.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 805362)
If the "tap" was when the try had not ended, then I see nothing wrong with counting the basket as long as the try was still in flight. B touching the ball itself does not necessarily end the try.

Peace

If the tap occurred before the try had ended, I think we'd either have GT or BI. Can't imagine how someone could tap a try into the basket otherwise. We're not talking about a "tip" as occurs when a player attempts to block a shot.

JugglingReferee Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 805384)
It seems everybody over thinks sitches, forget buzzer part of question as tap happened before buzzer. I wouldn't think of goaltending as the requirements for goaltending were not mentioned in OP, or you're just adding food for thought?

When I read the OP, I pictured a shot or layout and the hits the backboard, and then is coming down towards the basket. Then B hits the ball and it goes into the basket - either before or after the horn sounds.

JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 805394)
If the tap occurred before the try had ended, I think we'd either have GT or BI. Can't imagine how someone could tap a try into the basket otherwise. We're not talking about a "tip" as occurs when a player attempts to block a shot.

Well that is the way I read it. I do not think the term "tap" was used in the true sense of the definition. It sounded to me like an explanation of how the ball got into the basket.

Peace

rockyroad Fri Dec 16, 2011 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 805371)
People were answering the question without knowing the status of the horn.

Peace

Uhmmm...did you read the original post? Status of the horn was clearly stated.

Raymond Fri Dec 16, 2011 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805346)
Can you guys help - I keep looking for this and cant find it in the rule book.

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds B1 taps the ball into A's basket.

Does the basket count?

What is your basis in thinking the basket might not count?

just another ref Fri Dec 16, 2011 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 805371)
I understand all of that and why it still matters if we have a try or not at it relates to the horn. People were answering the question without knowing the status of the horn.

Peace


Some of us knew.



Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805346)
Can you guys help - I keep looking for this and cant find it in the rule book.

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds B1 taps the ball into A's basket.

Does the basket count?


Toren Fri Dec 16, 2011 03:28pm

So did you guys count the basket or did you waive it?

SNIPERBBB Fri Dec 16, 2011 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 805384)
It seems everybody over thinks sitches, forget buzzer part of question as tap happened before buzzer. I wouldn't think of goaltending as the requirements for goaltending were not mentioned in OP, or you're just adding food for thought?

While gt isn't possible, BI does not require there be a try or tap.

JRutledge Fri Dec 16, 2011 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 805403)
Uhmmm...did you read the original post? Status of the horn was clearly stated.

Yes I did. I responded the way I did because the only issue would be is what the result of the try was when the ball was "tapped." It seems to me that the only reason anyone would think that the ball would not count is the "try" had ended. Of course the original situation the ball would count not matter how the ball got into the basket. But if someone thinks the try has ended and the "tap" (which is really an incorrect usage of that word) somehow changed the status of the ball. Why else would you think the ball would not count?

Peace

bob jenkins Fri Dec 16, 2011 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 805430)
While gt isn't possible, BI does not require there be a try or tap.

Both are possible in the OP -- there's not enough info given to determine whether either occured, and the timing (as opposed to GT / BI) seemed to be the point of the question.

APG Fri Dec 16, 2011 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 805360)
What?

Why not?

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 805373)
huh??

A prime example of when one reads a question to fast.

:o

Raymond Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 805490)
A prime example of when one reads a question to fast.

:o


Since when did someone read a question in order to diet or observe a religious tenet?

fullor30 Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 805519)
Since when did someone read a question in order to diet or osberve a religious tenet?

HaHahhaha.....will even overlook 'osberve'

APG Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 805519)
Since when did someone read a question in order to diet or osberve a religious tenet?

I give up :o:D

26 Year Gap Sat Dec 17, 2011 09:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 805490)
A prime example of when one reads a question too fast.

:o

Merry Christmas. Fixed it for ya! No charge.

Adam Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 805707)
Merry Christmas. Fixed it for ya! No charge.

Is it free because it was late?

refiator Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 805348)
No.

Why not? A tap is a try unless .3 or less is on the clock.

Adam Sun Dec 18, 2011 01:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 805735)
Why not? A tap is a try unless .3 or less is on the clock.

He already admitted he read it too fast, but your second sentence isn't relevant to the OP.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 18, 2011 04:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 805735)
Why not? A tap is a try unless .3 or less is on the clock.

A tap is a try even with less than 0.3 on the clock.

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 18, 2011 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 805786)
A tap is a try even with less than 0.3 on the clock.

But not at the opponent's basket.

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 18, 2011 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 805714)
Is it free because it was late?

Be late. Be needed. Be right. I met all 3 criteria.

Raymond Sun Dec 18, 2011 09:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 805813)
Be late. Be needed. Be right. I met all 3 criteria.

You were late and right, but not needed. Took care of that part already. ;)

BktBallRef Sun Dec 18, 2011 09:27am

The horn doesn't have a status. That makes no sense whatsoever.

The ball is batted by B and goes into through the basket. The horn sounds. Count the 2 points.

This ain't that difficult folks.

BillyMac Sun Dec 18, 2011 10:18am

In Other Words ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 805834)
This ain't that difficult folks.

This ain't rocket surgery.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 18, 2011 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 805786)
A tap is a try even with less than 0.3 on the clock.

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 805812)
But not at the opponent's basket.

It is not a tap if it is at the opponents basket....a tap is essentially defined the same way as a try.
4-41-5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
So, really, we've talking about a "tip" all along.

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 18, 2011 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 805827)
You were late and right, but not needed. Took care of that part already. ;)

You called him on the to, two , or too problem?

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 18, 2011 03:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 805885)
It is not a tap if it is at the opponents basket....a tap is essentially defined the same way as a try.
4-41-5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
So, really, we've talking about a "tip" all along.

The OP called it a tap. By definition, it cannot be a tap. What it is is a bonehead play.

DenverRef Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:06am

So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

just another ref Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805993)
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

correct

HawkeyeCubP Mon Dec 19, 2011 12:48am

+1
 
What JAR said.

Camron Rust Mon Dec 19, 2011 02:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 805995)
correct

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 805997)
What JAR said.

Correct...because the ONLY way B can touch the ball is if the try had ended. If they were to touch it before the try were over, it would have been GT or BI (I'm reading the question to say the ball was on its way down).

Raymond Mon Dec 19, 2011 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805993)
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

Correct. And an NCAA crew actually got this play wrong a few years ago in a game at Virginia Tech which caused a lot of memos to be sent out.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 19, 2011 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 805993)
So we all agree the basket counts in the original posting scenario, because the horn was after it went through the basket.

But what if this scenario happens:

B leads A 60-59 in the 4th quarter. A1's try hits the backboard and before the horn sounds, ball caroms off of B1's hands and ricochets high in the air and towards A's basket. While in the air and before the ball hit hits the ring, the horn sounds. The ball then passes through the basket and the net.

So according to some of your posts, in this scenario the basket does NOT count, right? because the ball is dead at the sound of the horn?

If it's still a try, then the period doesn't end until the try ends, so the basket will count.

The official must judge if it's still a try (and if the official is having trouble with the OP and this latest play, it's likely s/he'll have trouble with "when a try ends.")


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1