The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Throw in spot?

Two man crew working youth AAU game: A has throw in from under own basket and tosses out to top of key area where ball is tipped first by A1 and then recovered by A1 deep in backcourt. Trail whistles for back court call, lead comes to discuss and a correction is made. Where is impending throw in spot?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 11:35am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Where do you put a ball in after an inadvertent whistle?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?
Make it a statement instead of a question and you'll be right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?
What if the whitsle happens with the ball in middle of flight?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
What if the whitsle happens with the ball in middle of flight?
What's the ball location (I mean the rule defintion of location)?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What's the ball location (I mean the rule defintion of location)?
I know the answer, was asking the OP
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2011, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
I must be missing something here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Two man crew working youth AAU game: A has throw in from under own basket and tosses out to top of key area where ball is tipped first by A1 and then recovered by A1 deep in backcourt. Trail whistles for back court call, lead comes to discuss and a correction is made. Where is impending throw in spot?
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2011, 06:35pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by ga314ref View Post
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?
This is coming from a throw-in...thus player control must also be established first before you can have a backcourt violation, 10 second count, or 3 second violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2011, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Then by the old, really old, definition, they were between the twenty-eight foot hash mark and the division line. Wait a minute, there is no more twenty-eight foot hash mark. Thank God. Anybody work on a court so old that there are twenty-eight foot hash marks, inbounds, on the playing court?
The mark is required (at least in front of the bench) on college courts (although it's used to mark the coaching box, not for the "lack of action" rule).

Quote:
Originally Posted by ga314ref View Post
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?
because it started with a throw-in
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2011, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
I'm still confused and disagree...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

because it started with a throw-in
...since this is not a scenario from 9-9-3, and has all the elements described in 9-9-1 to be called a BC. Had A1 jumped from the FC to the BC for his initial touch, I'd agree: no BC, but A1 touches the ball "at the top of the key" (ending the throw-in), and then runs and secures the ball in the BC.

This is a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2011, 09:22pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
The intent of adding team control during a throw-in is to not award free throws for a foul by the team in control. With regard to everything else during a throw-in, we handle things the EXACT same way as we have before. The wording in the rule is written poorly, but we know what intent was from the NFHS as they have made that clear through official power point slides and their interpretations.

2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4- 12-2d; 9-9)

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Wed Dec 14, 2011 at 09:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2011, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
Much clearer...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
...thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2011, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ga314ref View Post
...since this is not a scenario from 9-9-3, and has all the elements described in 9-9-1 to be called a BC. Had A1 jumped from the FC to the BC for his initial touch, I'd agree: no BC, but A1 touches the ball "at the top of the key" (ending the throw-in), and then runs and secures the ball in the BC.

This is a backcourt violation.
Despite the new (and incorrect) wording this year, the play described is still not a violation. PC needs to be established inbounds at some point before there can be a BC violation.

While there was TC throughout (because of the new wording), there was never PC inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2011, 08:57am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by ga314ref View Post
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?
At what point was there player control in the front court?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in spot Scratch85 Basketball 3 Fri Dec 12, 2008 09:52am
Spot Throw-in rhhudson Basketball 23 Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:42pm
Throw-in spot buckrog64 Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am
throw in spot kbilla Basketball 4 Tue Nov 13, 2007 05:33pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1