![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
because it started with a throw-in |
|
|||
In my giant corner of Texas, I've seen plenty of newer courts that have the 28 foot mark.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
That's because the 28 foot mark isn't as rare as Billy is making it out to be.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Yabut that doesn't fit the misty water colored memories.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
I'm still confused and disagree...
...since this is not a scenario from 9-9-3, and has all the elements described in 9-9-1 to be called a BC. Had A1 jumped from the FC to the BC for his initial touch, I'd agree: no BC, but A1 touches the ball "at the top of the key" (ending the throw-in), and then runs and secures the ball in the BC.
This is a backcourt violation. |
|
|||
The intent of adding team control during a throw-in is to not award free throws for a foul by the team in control. With regard to everything else during a throw-in, we handle things the EXACT same way as we have before. The wording in the rule is written poorly, but we know what intent was from the NFHS as they have made that clear through official power point slides and their interpretations.
2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations SITUATION 4: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4- 12-2d; 9-9) SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. Last edited by APG; Wed Dec 14, 2011 at 09:43pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
At what point was there player control in the front court?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
While there was TC throughout (because of the new wording), there was never PC inbounds. |
|
|||
Much clearer...
Quote:
|
|
|||
Conversely, I'm not sure I've seen a marked coach's box yet. That's one I wouldn't mind, especially since the sub-varsity box is only supposed to be six feet (yeah right).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw in spot | Scratch85 | Basketball | 3 | Fri Dec 12, 2008 09:52am |
Spot Throw-in | rhhudson | Basketball | 23 | Tue Feb 05, 2008 06:42pm |
Throw-in spot | buckrog64 | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:45am |
throw in spot | kbilla | Basketball | 4 | Tue Nov 13, 2007 05:33pm |
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |