The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in spot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84198-throw-spot.html)

letemplay Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:28am

Throw in spot?
 
Two man crew working youth AAU game: A has throw in from under own basket and tosses out to top of key area where ball is tipped first by A1 and then recovered by A1 deep in backcourt. Trail whistles for back court call, lead comes to discuss and a correction is made. Where is impending throw in spot?

Adam Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:35am

Where do you put a ball in after an inadvertent whistle?

letemplay Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:14pm

Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?

bob jenkins Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 803906)
Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?

Make it a statement instead of a question and you'll be right. ;)

Indianaref Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 803906)
Where it was when inadvertent whistle occurred?

What if the whitsle happens with the ball in middle of flight?

bob jenkins Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 803912)
What if the whitsle happens with the ball in middle of flight?

What's the ball location (I mean the rule defintion of location)?

Indianaref Mon Dec 12, 2011 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 803925)
What's the ball location (I mean the rule defintion of location)?

I know the answer, was asking the OP

letemplay Mon Dec 12, 2011 02:56pm

Well, I guess the ball location when the whistle blew was deep in A's backcourt, where A1 first touched. When the refs conferred they were at midcourt and put ball back in play there.

BillyMac Mon Dec 12, 2011 07:39pm

Confucius Says ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Indianaref (Post 803912)
What if the whitsle happens with the ball in middle of flight?

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 803979)
Well, I guess the ball location when the whistle blew was deep in A's backcourt, where A1 first touched. When the refs conferred they were at midcourt and put ball back in play there.

You are where you were until you get where you're going.

This works for both player location, and ball location.

Also. The midcourt line is twenty-eight feet from the endline, and hasn't been used in NFHS rules for at least twenty years. Did you mean division line?

letemplay Tue Dec 13, 2011 09:55am

Confucius say what?
 
"Don't sweat the small stuff"? Maybe that was someone else. I guess I used "midcourt" to describe the vicinity the refs were in when they discussed play. "Table-side" could maybe have been a more correct term. If I was going to establish a spot throw in, or refer to a specific line, I believe I would use "division" line. Speaking of "line", the bottom line is no one has answered, I don't believe definitively, the original question: Where is the throw-in made on this play involving the IW? I'm going to assume from the questions, comments and posts that most feel it would be at the spot closest to where the ball was when the IW occurred.

CoachP Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 804047)
You are where you were until you get where you're going.

This works for both player location, and ball location.

Also. The midcourt line is twenty-eight feet from the endline, and hasn't been used in NFHS rules for at least twenty years. Did you mean division line?

He didn't say midcourt line. He said the refs conferred at midcourt.

Raymond Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 804193)
"Don't sweat the small stuff"? Maybe that was someone else. I guess I used "midcourt" to describe the vicinity the refs were in when they discussed play. "Table-side" could maybe have been a more correct term. If I was going to establish a spot throw in, or refer to a specific line, I believe I would use "division" line. Speaking of "line", the bottom line is no one has answered, I don't believe definitively, the original question: Where is the throw-in made on this play involving the IW? I'm going to assume from the questions, comments and posts that most feel it would be at the spot closest to where the ball was when the IW occurred.

You said A1 was in possession of the ball when the IW occurred. So why do you think the throw-in spot would be anywhere other than the spot closest to A1?

BillyMac Tue Dec 13, 2011 06:10pm

Misty Water Colored Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 804203)
He didn't say midcourt line. He said the refs conferred at midcourt.

Then by the old, really old, definition, they were between the twenty-eight foot hash mark and the division line. Wait a minute, there is no more twenty-eight foot hash mark. Thank God. Anybody work on a court so old that there are twenty-eight foot hash marks, inbounds, on the playing court?

ga314ref Tue Dec 13, 2011 06:22pm

I must be missing something here...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 803887)
Two man crew working youth AAU game: A has throw in from under own basket and tosses out to top of key area where ball is tipped first by A1 and then recovered by A1 deep in backcourt. Trail whistles for back court call, lead comes to discuss and a correction is made. Where is impending throw in spot?

...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?

APG Tue Dec 13, 2011 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 804409)
...A has team control, A1 touches the ball in the front court, then chases it down and recovers in the backcourt. Why is this not a backcourt violation?

This is coming from a throw-in...thus player control must also be established first before you can have a backcourt violation, 10 second count, or 3 second violation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1