The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 11, 2011, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.
Really? Isn't it LGP that grants a defender the privilege of moving at the time of contact?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 11, 2011, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Really? Isn't it LGP that grants a defender the privilege of moving at the time of contact?
Camron, please don't take my comments out of context and twist them for your own means. I wrote three statements, not one.

A player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. Whether he's lying on the floor or standing with his back to the dribbler, the same restrictions exist on his movement and his position, based on this rule.

That has nothing to do with LGP, nor did my last two statements have anything to do with LGP.

If you want to tell us about LGP, then by all means, knock yourself out.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Dec 11, 2011 at 03:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 11, 2011, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Camron, please don't take my comments out of context and twist them for your own means. I wrote three statements, not one.

A player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. Whether he's lying on the floor or standing with his back to the dribbler, the same restrictions exist on his movement and his position, based on this rule.

That has nothing to do with LGP, nor did my last two statements have anything to do with LGP.

If you want to tell us about LGP, then by all means, knock yourself out.
Wow??? Did someone get out of bed on the wrong side today or what! I took NOTHING out of context...I quoted the entire post.

The fact is that the movement that the movement of a player on the floor is more limited than a player on their feet since a player laying on the floor can't have LGP.

Your IM to me was as juvenile as I've seen in a long time.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Dec 11, 2011 at 10:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Wow??? Did someone get out of bed on the wrong side today or what! I took NOTHING out of context...I quoted the entire post.

The fact is that the movement that the movement of a player on the floor is more limited than a player on their feet since a player laying on the floor can't have LGP.

Your IM to me was as juvenile as I've seen in a long time.
Yeah, ya did. The red sentence is part of his explanation as to why LGP is NOT relevant in this case. You took the sentence and reversed the context.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Yeah, ya did. The red sentence is part of his explanation as to why LGP is NOT relevant in this case. You took the sentence and reversed the context.
When I read it, that is not how it came across. Maybe he meant it to say that but that is not they way it seemed. I suppose it was ambiguous and could have been read either way. But if I read it that way, I'm sure that someone else did too.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Trip so cal lurker Football 14 Sat Dec 18, 2010 01:12pm
Let's take a trip.. ManInBlue Baseball 17 Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:59pm
2nd trip by coach ggk Baseball 11 Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:37am
U-Trip Balls Dukat Softball 6 Mon Apr 19, 2004 09:18am
Trip/or no trip? J_Biz Lacrosse 2 Mon May 14, 2001 08:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1