The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   a fall and a trip (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84124-fall-trip.html)

CoachNRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 05:36pm

a fall and a trip
 
A1 driving toward basket. B1 guarding but falls and A1 trips over B1 and ball goes oob. whats ur call?

BktBallRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803437)
A1 driving toward basket. B1 guarding but falls and A1 trips over B1 and ball goes oob. whats ur call?

There's no way to make a call based on that description. That's a play you would have to see to make. Could be a foul on B1 or it could be a perfectly legal by B1. It is not automatically either one.

CoachNRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 06:11pm

BBR thats just the way it happened. it was JH-8B and sometimes these kids just fall then others trip and it looks real ugly. everyone expects a foul call for a crash. it was difficult to call a block as he was guarding on the move... so i just called oob.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803443)
BBR thats just the way it happened.

No, that's not "just the way it happened."

Did B1 have legal guarding position?
Did B1 fall down while backing up?
Did B1 move toward A1 as he fell?
Did B1 fall into A1's path as he tried to go by him?

If B1 had not fallen down and the same collision had occurred, would there have been a foul? Who would it have been on?

So no, you did not give us enough information to know whether a foul occurred or not.

CoachNRef Sat Dec 10, 2011 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803445)
No, that's not "just the way it happened."

Did B1 have legal guarding position?
Did B1 fall down while backing up?
Did B1 move toward A1 as he fell?
Did B1 fall into A1's path as he tried to go by him?

If B1 had not fallen down and the same collision had occurred, would there have been a foul? Who would it have been on?

So no, you did not give us enough information to know whether a foul occurred or not.

yes, yes, no, no

if B1 hadn't fallen down, you could not have the same collision. now if B1 stopped would A1 have run into him? maybe.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 10, 2011 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803453)
yes, yes, no, no

if B1 hadn't fallen down, you could not have the same collision. now if B1 stopped would A1 have run into him? maybe.

B's position is legal (FED rules), so the rest of the play is what it is..

BillyMac Sun Dec 11, 2011 07:54am

Confucius Say ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 803493)
B's position is legal (FED rules), so the rest of the play is what it is.

There's a difference between being tripped, and tripping.

vbzebra Sun Dec 11, 2011 08:40am

B may have had LGP, but once he's fallen onto the floor, he no longer has LGP, right? If he moves even a wee bit with A1 falling after the contact with
B1, we'd have a foul on B1, right?

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 09:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra (Post 803589)
B may have had LGP, but once he's fallen onto the floor, he no longer has LGP, right? If he moves even a wee bit with A1 falling after the contact with
B1, we'd have a foul on B1, right?

Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

twocentsworth Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803437)
A1 driving toward basket. B1 guarding but falls and A1 trips over B1 and ball goes oob. whats ur call?

seems like this has come up several times so far this year (here and elsewhere).....

by NFHS rule, the defender has a right to that space on the floor. When the contact is such that it causes the ball handler to fall and lose the ball, then I've got a foul on the defender.

CoachNRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803600)
Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

Whats the rule citation or case?

Rob1968 Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachNRef (Post 803620)
Whats the rule citation or case?

4-23-1 (3rd sentence) ...Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.

Jay R Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803600)
Makes no difference whether he has LGP or not. If he got to his spot on the floor first without illegally contacting an opponent, then he is entitled to that position under NFHS rules. His movement is no more limited than if he was still on his feet.

So the defender dives to the floor in front of a dribbler. As long as he gets there before the dribbler, you're not calling a foul when the dribbler trips over the defender?

Adam Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:38am

I've had it happen both ways this year. B1 falls, and lays there while a dribbling A1 trips. No call. B1 trips, and rolls over A1's leg, causing him to fall.

Adam Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 803628)
So the defender dives to the floor in front of a dribbler. As long as he gets there before the dribbler, you're not calling a foul when the dribbler trips over the defender?

Nope.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1