The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 09, 2011, 11:16am
Official Forum Member

Free Throw Violation

I am a VGirls coach and I have been scouting our local district rival. They have a young lady that is really athletic and good. However, she shoots a jump shot from the free throw line.

Not sure why, but she is really distract by her feet. Right before she releases she looks down at her feet. In the games I have seen her she shoots about 78%, not bad for high school girls.

Here's the catch. Every time....I mean every time she releases she comes down on the FT line. So while at a game last night, one of our local officials who has been officiating for 20+ years, comes by to say hello. I explain to him what I have just explained to you. His relpy was, "hmm, I've never seen that before. I'll have to check." This was kind of disappointing because we have lots of young officials and I assume that if this really good official doesn't know then most of our younger guys wont either. He said he wasn't sure if on the line and over the line were different.

This got me wondering if maybe I don't know the rule. I believe this to be a FT line violation, therefore taking away any made FT and awarding a 2nd shot in a two shot foul or the opposing team the ball on the baseline for a throw in. Is this correct?
Old Fri Dec 09, 2011, 11:18am
Official Forum Member

By rule, a violation.

The "intent and purpose" of the rule is to prevent the FT shooter from getting an unfair advantage for a rebound. Landing on the line doesn't give that advantage.

So, it won't often be called.

still, the young lady should be coached to stay behind the line.
Old Fri Dec 09, 2011, 11:21am
Official Forum Member

Does she land on or over the FT line?
Does the ball contact the rim or backboard prior to her landing?
Old Fri Dec 09, 2011, 11:24am
Official Forum Member