The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 24, 2011, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Oh fine, don't have my books to get the exact rule reference...but A1 can't recover his own pass, correct?
The play you described (A1 bounces the "pass" with spin and catches the ball) is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 24, 2011, 02:34pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The play you described (A1 bounces the "pass" with spin and catches the ball) is legal.
Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 24, 2011, 02:39pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.
JRut answered your question correctly...there are times one can retrieve a thrown ball without repercussion and times where if you do so, you might be committing an illegal dribble violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 24, 2011, 02:45pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
So let's say my original situation applies, only this time A1 catches the ball, then starts another dribble. We'd have an illegal dribble (ie double dribble) violation?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 24, 2011, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.
Impossible. By definition, a pass is to another player.

So, A1 can recover a fumble. A1 can recover (end) a dribble -- even if the dribble covers a long distance, and A1 takes multiple steps to recover.

A1 can't toss the ball in the air, move the pivot foot and catch the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1