The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   9-9-2? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/82755-9-9-2-a.html)

Freddy Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:44pm

9-9-2?
 
Rule 9-9-2: "While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt."

I've been trying to get my head around possible situations prohibited by this rule. The casebook has none to clarify. Other than "the backcourt player's pass hitting the leg of an official in the frontcourt then going back..." (previous thread's sitch), can you suggest any other possible situation?

stiffler3492 Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 795648)
Rule 9-9-2: "While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt."

I've been trying to get my head around possible situations prohibited by this rule. The casebook has none to clarify. Can you suggest one or some?

A1 receives the inbounds pass to begin a quarter. He catches the ball standing just a couple of feet from the division line. The defense has set up below the top of the key.

To start his dribble, he tosses the ball forward, with backspin on it, so that the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, spins back to the backcourt, and he continues dribbling.

That is of course, if you consider this move a fumble and not a pass to himself.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 24, 2011 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795649)
To start his dribble, he tosses the ball forward, with backspin on it, so that the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, spins back to the backcourt, and he continues dribbling.

That's a dribble -- so it's legal.

You could have a pass from (near) one side of the court to (near) the other that bounces in the FC and is released by and caught by players in the BC.

billyu2 Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 795648)
Rule 9-9-2: "While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt."

I've been trying to get my head around possible situations prohibited by this rule. The casebook has none to clarify. Other than "the backcourt player's pass hitting the leg of an official in the frontcourt then going back..." (previous thread's sitch), can you suggest any other possible situation?

A1 in the backcourt passes and the ball hits an official inbounds in the front court. The ball bounces back into backcourt and is first touched by a Team A player.

APG Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795649)

That is of course, if you consider this move a fumble and not a pass to himself.

It's impossible to pass the ball to oneself.

stiffler3492 Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 795654)
It's impossible to pass the ball to oneself.

You know what I mean

JRutledge Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795656)
You know what I mean

To be fair I would not know what you are talking about as many people say this as an explanation as a violation.

Peace

stiffler3492 Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:28pm

Oh fine, don't have my books to get the exact rule reference...but A1 can't recover his own pass, correct?

JRutledge Mon Oct 24, 2011 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795660)
Oh fine, don't have my books to get the exact rule reference...but A1 can't recover his own pass, correct?

Why can't they? The only issue would be if the "pass" started a dribble and had they dribbled before. But to say a player cannot recover their own pass would be incorrect. If you deem the action to be a fumble, then all players can recover their own fumble no matter if they dribbled or not.

Peace

bob jenkins Mon Oct 24, 2011 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795660)
Oh fine, don't have my books to get the exact rule reference...but A1 can't recover his own pass, correct?

The play you described (A1 bounces the "pass" with spin and catches the ball) is legal.

stiffler3492 Mon Oct 24, 2011 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 795670)
The play you described (A1 bounces the "pass" with spin and catches the ball) is legal.

Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.

APG Mon Oct 24, 2011 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795673)
Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.

JRut answered your question correctly...there are times one can retrieve a thrown ball without repercussion and times where if you do so, you might be committing an illegal dribble violation.

stiffler3492 Mon Oct 24, 2011 02:45pm

So let's say my original situation applies, only this time A1 catches the ball, then starts another dribble. We'd have an illegal dribble (ie double dribble) violation?

bob jenkins Mon Oct 24, 2011 03:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 795673)
Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.

Impossible. By definition, a pass is to another player.

So, A1 can recover a fumble. A1 can recover (end) a dribble -- even if the dribble covers a long distance, and A1 takes multiple steps to recover.

A1 can't toss the ball in the air, move the pivot foot and catch the ball.

Freddy Mon Oct 24, 2011 03:15pm

Head Might Be Starting to Get Around It
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 795648)
Rule 9-9-2: "While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt."

I've been trying to get my head around possible situations prohibited by this rule. The casebook has none to clarify. Other than "the backcourt player's pass hitting the leg of an official in the frontcourt then going back..." (previous thread's sitch), can you suggest any other possible situation?

Okay, having once again studied all previous threads on this topic, would this be a correct statement?:

"Since 9-9-1 was revised in order to accomodate the new rule stipulating team control during a throw-in ("The change primarily affects how foul penalties will be administered"), the Casebook situation 9.9.1.C.a trumps the unfortunate phraseology of the new 9-9-1 when, say, backcourt A1's pass touches frontcourt A2 (no player control) and goes back to backcourt where A1 resumes control; this a backcourt violation."

Is that a correct statement for that sort of backcourt-to-frontcourt-to-backcourt situation?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1