![]() |
|
|||
9-9-2?
Rule 9-9-2: "While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt."
I've been trying to get my head around possible situations prohibited by this rule. The casebook has none to clarify. Other than "the backcourt player's pass hitting the leg of an official in the frontcourt then going back..." (previous thread's sitch), can you suggest any other possible situation?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Mon Oct 24, 2011 at 12:55pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
To start his dribble, he tosses the ball forward, with backspin on it, so that the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, spins back to the backcourt, and he continues dribbling. That is of course, if you consider this move a fumble and not a pass to himself. |
|
|||
Quote:
You could have a pass from (near) one side of the court to (near) the other that bounces in the FC and is released by and caught by players in the BC. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
It's impossible to pass the ball to oneself.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
To be fair I would not know what you are talking about as many people say this as an explanation as a violation.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The play you described (A1 bounces the "pass" with spin and catches the ball) is legal.
|
|
|||
Right, I got that. We were debating whether or not A1 can recover his own pass.
|
|
|||
JRut answered your question correctly...there are times one can retrieve a thrown ball without repercussion and times where if you do so, you might be committing an illegal dribble violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
So, A1 can recover a fumble. A1 can recover (end) a dribble -- even if the dribble covers a long distance, and A1 takes multiple steps to recover. A1 can't toss the ball in the air, move the pivot foot and catch the ball. |
|
|||
Head Might Be Starting to Get Around It
Quote:
"Since 9-9-1 was revised in order to accomodate the new rule stipulating team control during a throw-in ("The change primarily affects how foul penalties will be administered"), the Casebook situation 9.9.1.C.a trumps the unfortunate phraseology of the new 9-9-1 when, say, backcourt A1's pass touches frontcourt A2 (no player control) and goes back to backcourt where A1 resumes control; this a backcourt violation." Is that a correct statement for that sort of backcourt-to-frontcourt-to-backcourt situation?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call Last edited by Freddy; Mon Oct 24, 2011 at 03:28pm. Reason: Clarifying the Unclarifiable |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|