![]() |
|
|
|||
SITUATION 2: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal.
RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2; 9-7) SITUATION 3: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2; 9-8) SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand nd goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9) SITUATION 8: Team A has a designated spot throw-in along the end line. Thrower A1 extends the ball with his/her arms over the end line such that part of the forearms, hands and the ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. RULING: When a defender makes contact with a thrower-in, the result is an intentional foul. Where A1’s arms are located (on the inbounds or out-ofbounds side of the boundary line) is immaterial for this penalty to be assessed. A1 is awarded two free throws and Team A awarded a throwin at the spot nearest the foul. COMMENT: For a boundary-plane violation warning to also be assessed, the defender must actually violate the rule and penetrate the boundary plane. (4-19-3e; 4-47-1; 7-5-4b; 9-2-10 Penalty 4)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Oct 13, 2011 at 09:41am. |
|
|||
Well, I posted 4
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Oct 13, 2011 at 01:25pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Agree. Some rules/cases don't actually mean what they appear to say when taken out of context. They could have done a LOT better job of wording the new rules to get the desired effect without having to establish a bunch of interpretative to except all of the unintended consequences.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Then we'd be arguing about how you could have a "team control foul" while there was no team control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Well, you can have a player control foul when there's no player control.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I should've read the whole thread before responding. I agree with both Snaq and Bob. Last edited by Scrapper1; Fri Oct 14, 2011 at 02:55pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The interp tries to get around the issue by arguing that the team control takes place out of bounds, not in the frontcourt or the backcourt. However, once the ball touches a player or the floor in the backcourt, it gains backcourt status. So we do have team control and the ball in the backcourt. Per rule 9-8 that is all that is required and the count should start. There is no requirement that there actually be team control IN THE BACKCOURT. The interp from a couple of seasons ago made that very clear. The NFHS kicked this one. They wanted way a 10-second count works to remain unchanged, but unfortunately they failed to craft a rule which allows that. So they issue another bogus interp which doesn't mesh with the text of the rules book. ![]() Quote:
My idea is to just alter the penalty section following 10-6. Item 1 lists five instances for which no free throws are awarded. They are labeled a through e. All the NFHS had to do was create an item f there. The wording could have been "for any common foul during the time from the start of a throw-in until player control is established." Yep, that's it. No changes to any rules or definitions. No complications with backcourt violations, three seconds, five seconds, or ten seconds. Just the elimination of FTs for fouls committed under those given circumstances. Why does the NFHS make this so hard? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Note however, that would have the additional effect of having no FTs for defensive fouls during a throwin. It is, however, still much cleaner.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS 2009-10 Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 3 | Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. | Basketball | 23 | Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:53pm |
Fed Rule Interpretations | Grail | Basketball | 7 | Thu Oct 12, 2006 07:28pm |
Updated NF interpretations | Theisey | Football | 9 | Tue Sep 30, 2003 07:49pm |
Official Interpretations ??? | Bfair | Baseball | 2 | Sat Feb 17, 2001 05:51am |
FED interpretations? | Randallump | Baseball | 4 | Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am |