The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2011, 06:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I don't see that in the OP at all.....it appears to me that he only thought of that AFTER his partner called the foul on the other player.
Post 5, in response to bob.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 07, 2011, 07:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Post 5, in response to bob.
Fair enough...it was not in the OP.....but if I'm thinking X and my partner says I've got it, I'm going to be talking about it anyway.....regardless of what I think my partner has.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Oct 07, 2011 at 07:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2011, 11:11am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Fair enough...it was not in the OP.....but if I'm thinking X and my partner says I've got it, I'm going to be talking about it anyway.....regardless of what I think my partner has.
Fair enough, but I could see that going badly if not done right. "partner, you think that might be an intentional?"
Partner, "Sure."
Partner then inexplicably calls an intentional for the OTB foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2011, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Well if he has an "over the back" foul & it wasnt on a try, the clock stops there, right?
Then the egregious act had to be on the dead ball, no? To me that sounds like a false double. In that situation the 2nd foul was during a dead ball... Intentional T or flagrant T.
The play isn't dead until the whistle is blown. According to you, you all blew the whistle at the same time, AFTER B34 backed A34 out. Therefore, B34's action did not come after the whistle, so it is NOT a dead ball foul.

BTW, there's no such thing as an "over the back" foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2011, 12:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Man, I Wish I Had A Nickel ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
There's no such thing as an "over the back" foul.


Over the back is not a foul. There must be illegal contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

In other words: Over the back isn't a foul, on the back is a foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2011, 12:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
The play isn't dead until the whistle is blown. According to you, you all blew the whistle at the same time, AFTER B34 backed A34 out. Therefore, B34's action did not come after the whistle, so it is NOT a dead ball foul.

BTW, there's no such thing as an "over the back" foul.
The ball is not dead on the whistle. In the case of a foul, it's dead when the foul occurs. If tref's partner deemed A34's actions to be a foul, then B34's backout occurred during a dead ball (assuming no try was in progress) regardless of when the whistles blew.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2011, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The ball is not dead on the whistle. In the case of a foul, it's dead when the foul occurs. If tref's partner deemed A34's actions to be a foul, then B34's backout occurred during a dead ball (assuming no try was in progress) regardless of when the whistles blew.
There's no try/tap, so yes, the ball is most definitely dead on the whistle. The whistle recognizes the foul and the ball is dead. Are you telling us there's still a foul if there's no whistle? I don't think so.

All three recognized a foul at the same time and whistled. L has a foul on A34, C and T have a foul on B34. That makes this a double foul. C and T dropped the ball by failing to report their foul on B34.

There is no dead ball foul in this play. That's an afterthought by tref to try and cover his mistake.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Oct 08, 2011 at 01:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 08, 2011, 02:01pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
There's no try/tap, so yes, the ball is most definitely dead on the whistle. The whistle recognizes the foul and the ball is dead. Are you telling us there's still a foul if there's no whistle? I don't think so.

All three recognized a foul at the same time and whistled. L has a foul on A34, C and T have a foul on B34. That makes this a double foul. C and T dropped the ball by failing to report their foul on B34.

There is no dead ball foul in this play. That's an afterthought by tref to try and cover his mistake.
I'm not going to dispute your final point, but consider this slightly different situation;
B1 blocking out A1 for a rebound. A1 pushes through B1 and gets the ball. In retaliation, B1 clears out an airborne A1, knocking him to the floor.
Whistle blows as A1 is falling to the floor.
Isn't B1's foul a technical?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learned A lesson Chess Ref Softball 3 Wed Mar 22, 2006 02:17pm
New Lesson Learned DownTownTonyBrown Basketball 4 Thu Jan 19, 2006 02:17pm
lesson learned MPLAHE Basketball 9 Mon Nov 28, 2005 04:46pm
lesson learned coachsara Softball 8 Tue Aug 09, 2005 08:33am
Lesson Learned Todd VandenAkker Basketball 14 Tue Feb 15, 2000 02:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1