![]() |
Backcourt?
Team A has the ball in the frontcourt for a throw in. A1 throws it to A2, but A2 can't handle the pass, and the ball goes into the backcourt. A2 is the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.
Keeping the rule change in mind, what do ya got? |
Team Control ???
Quote:
|
No violation
|
This is one of these cases where the "Intent and Purpose" of the rule applies. The wording does not appear to be very clear, but it is clear that the rule was changed to not shoot FTs on fouls when the ball is being thrown in. As Billy said I do not think this changed, but it is hard to tell sometimes with some of the wording.
Peace |
Quote:
|
The OP is not a violation because there was no player control in the frontcourt.
|
The wording of the new rule requires both team AND PLAYER control in the frontcourt. Since there was no player control established in the frontcourt, there cannot be a backcourt violation.
|
Thanks. That's the way I called it, but I wanted to double check with the new rule
|
Quote:
I know the OP is not a BC violaton but I'm wondering as to what new rule you are referring. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tion-rule.html
Here's the thread on this from a couple months ago. |
Nevada's post is misleading as the new TC rule and its associated case plays make no reference to " both team AND PLAYER control in the frontcourt". The newly worded rule he is referencing is 9-9-1.
I'm quite sure the "rule change" the OP wanted us to "keep in mind" was 4-12-2d. |
Well, what I was going for was how the new team control on throw in rule affected backcourt violations.
The general consensus seems to be that what I had was no violation, because there was never player control in the frontcourt. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16pm. |