The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Been itching to ask for views on this scenario for a while and this seems like a good opening ...

Two-whistle game, you're lead, administering B1's free throws. During said throws, what's your best advice for determining whether A2 (in the lowest position, opposite) is getting pushed by B2 to the point of a foul during the shot and boxout?

Let me clarify: A2 is not jumping, but rather digging in for the box-out. There's a total straight-lining there.

I knew the family of A2 in one particular game and asked later if he was really getting the pressure from behind and he said yes. I had thought as much, yet from the endline, I saw no displacement so figured I had nothing to call. I told him it would have helped if I saw him move or lurch at some point. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
I saw no displacement so figured I had nothing to call.
Minus any obvious displacemment, thats a tough call for the L.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 01:08pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
I knew the family of A2 in one particular game and asked later if he was really getting the pressure from behind and he said yes. I had thought as much, yet from the endline, I saw no displacement so figured I had nothing to call. I told him it would have helped if I saw him move or lurch at some point. Thoughts?
Cannot call what you cannot see. And it is worse to call something purely on a guess.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Two-whistle game, you're lead, administering B1's free throws. During said throws, what's your best advice for determining whether A2 (in the lowest position, opposite) is getting pushed by B2 to the point of a foul during the shot and boxout?
My best advice is to not look there because that's the T's / C's responsibility. L has rebounding on his/her side.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
My best advice is to not look there because that's the T's / C's responsibility. L has rebounding on his/her side.
Even if its the kid of a family friend?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post

Let me clarify: A2 is not jumping, but rather digging in for the box-out. There's a total straight-lining there.

....asked later if he was really getting the pressure from behind and he said yes.
So, if A2 wasn't displaced, that means that A2 is applying just as much pressure in the opposite direction....Newton says so.

So, who is really doing the pushing? One player wants to move their opponent in, and the other wants to move their opponent out.....or they want to resist being displaced. Both are applying pressure in roughly equal amounts. Only when one displaces the other (or it becomes too rough) does the contact become a foul....and either one could be the guilty party.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 06, 2011, 11:30pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
So, if A2 wasn't displaced, that means that A2 is applying just as much pressure in the opposite direction....Newton says so.

So, who is really doing the pushing? One player wants to move their opponent in, and the other wants to move their opponent out.....or they want to resist being displaced. Both are applying pressure in roughly equal amounts. Only when one displaces the other (or it becomes too rough) does the contact become a foul....and either one could be the guilty party.
Not necessarily, inertia plays a factor, as does size difference.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
established legal guard position but too close to an opponent without the ball? christianH Basketball 23 Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:47pm
Is it legal for a wrestler to tickle his opponent? Pashnish Ewing Wrestling 4 Wed Jan 30, 2008 05:59pm
Question - One handed push in back WHILE Jump ball with other during shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 9 Tue Mar 08, 2005 09:06pm
Push in back on lay up. dknick78 Basketball 12 Tue Mar 08, 2005 03:16pm
Question - One handed push in back WHILE Jump ball with other during shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 1 Mon Mar 07, 2005 08:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1