The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 05, 2003, 01:55am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,586
Question Where does it say that?

Quote:
Originally posted by just another ref

9-7-3 refers to when the player in the lane is the one with
the ball.
In the earlier example A1 is in the lane, but the count stops when A2 releases a shot.
You are talking about Team Control, I am talking about the application of the 3 second rule. It clearly says to give allowances for a try for goal as well as a dribble. Yes you must have Team Control to call 3 seconds, but the rulebook clearly wants allowances to be given for taking an attempt at the goal.

Now if you want to call a 3 second call while a player is in the process of shooting the ball, so be it. But I do not think that is good common sense officiating. Just like many officials want a release before they will award a shooting foul when contact is made on the ball handler. And since 9-7 is the only place I am aware of that goes into detail about the rule, nothing is stated about a release. Nothing in the Casebook talks about release either.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1